We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room, the hotel personnel, the location are all in the excellent category. Had reserved a one bedroom suite for me and my daughter, however, my son came along too. When we arrived they upgraded us to a two bedroom suite at no extra charge. I did not ask for the upgrade, it was just given to us. This just shows what wonderful customer service was provided. Needless to say, we had a great time in such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    377
    88
    37
    19
See reviews for
371
772
76
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice staff, nice clean and very modern rooms, great location. We'd definitely return. The room was a little warm, even with the windows open and the heat off but that was the only real downfall.

If you will around the hotel, you can save $10 per night by parking on the street and moving your car a couple times each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CASRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This facility and its staff got it all together! From the reception on, everyone is most polite, welcoming and interested in making your trip a wonderful experience. We travelled with friends and the two bedroom suite with adjoining baths, kitchen and living room overlooking the harbor was perfect. The appointments are modern and very functional, all in great taste.

The receptionists were better than most concierges, always suggesting superb places to see, explore or eat at. We especially enjoyed the Wednesday night jazz dinner. Definitely recommended. Don't just stay for a night, you need days to really enjoy all that Victoria and the Oswego have to offer. .... and try the Don Mee Chinese restaurant if you like the Singapore style Dungeness Chili Crab. It is the best!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room, the higher the better. All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Our Guest experience is the most important thing for the team. We want all of our guests to have the best possible stay with us. The team work hard on the details and to ensure high standards of service.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is A lovely hotel in a great location. A short walk from all the sightseeing places, and restaurants in Victoria. We had a large,well equipped comfortable room. The staff gave us a friendly welcome and were all very helpful. Excellent breakfast and restaurant staff very polite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with my father in law for a week. We had a two bedroom suite. One room has a washroom attached. The other washroom is located just down the hall. Very comfortable for three people. There is a full kitchen and Thrifty Foods is 5 or 6 blocks away. We didn't rent a car and you wouldn't need to as the hotel is close to the harbour and downtown. The staff is professional and helpful. Only thing I think Oswego could improve upon is the technology. Wifi service is intermittent, telephones are somewhat confusing and television reception is poor. Having said this, we would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Summertime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and also that you enjoyed our spacious suites.

Our apologies that you found the complimentary wifi a little unstable. We have had very high occupancy over recent months and have been told by our provider that this at times can slow things down very slightly. We do not normally receive complaints about our wifi but, we will continue to work with our provider to give the best service to our guests.

We hope that we will welcome you back to stay with us soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was beautiful. I was sent to my room after check in. Then after getting settled in i was called by front desk told me they were sorry but the room wasn't ready and to pack up come back to the desk and they would get me into another room. When we got downstairs the girl at the front desk told me to have a seat while they finished up my room. My wife and I sat in the lobby for over 10min waiting. Then we were simply told okay, your room is ready you may return to it. Seemed kinda poor customer service. They didn't offer a reason or a different room nothing. Just had us sit and wait. Not exactly what we had in mind on our anniversary weekend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel for your special event.

My apologies for the mis-communication with regards to your arrival. We always ensure that our guests suite is ready and to a high standard on arrival. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper about your comments and unfortunately some last minute maintenance repair occurred in your suite just prior to your check in. Housekeeping were required to do final checks on your suite which had been omitted due to your arrival. I will continue to work with the team to ensure that communication within the departments is thorough and consistent at all times.

We hope that the remainder of your stay at the Oswego and in Victoria was relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was too good to only spend one night, but that is all the time we had. The accommodation was huge and modern, with large lounge/kitchen, excellent bathroom, and very comfortable bedroom with a large bed. Unfortunately, we arrived at 5pm one day and had to leave by 7am the next, so it was all a bit wasted on us, except of course for the great night's sleep. We even missed breakfast as it didn't start until 7am! The meal was really good in the hotel restaurant but I don't like to sit on stools/high chairs when formal eating out, and that is all that is on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back to stay with us again and for a longer time period perhaps next time.

In your review you mentioned that our O Bistro had only high top tables and stools to sit at. Our Bistro does have a section that has low regular height tables also. As a hotel guest you also receive 20% discount.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing