We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Go to Victoria just to stay at this hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go to Victoria just to stay at this hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is great! The staff are terrific, professional, helpful, friendly, and the room was a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, balcony and fabulous bath and shower room. All so comfortable and welcoming. The bar/restaurant/lobby area is terrific and the breakfast great.
They found the pills we left behind and sent them to us, which we really appreciated.
All in all we would go back to Victoria again just to stay in this hotel, which is so convenient for the Vic-Seattle ferry: only 1 1/2 blocks away, and close to interesting restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janemarylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Wow - thank you. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back and visit us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    350
    84
    31
    19
See reviews for
335
725
70
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My suite was tastefully appointed and comfortably roomy. An entrance and hallway lead to a comfortable studio suite with a fully equipped kitchenette complete with dishwasher. Tasteful blown glass displays and fruit bowls adorn the entry and seating areas. As for those prior comments about the summer heat, my suite had an air conditioner installed with a window vent. The location is next to the Parliament buildings, about 10 min. away from the BC Museum and the Visitor Centre. Bathroom, with both shower and tub, was spacious and sparkling. Oswego Hotel definitely merits a return visit, even while some of the visitor attractions in Victoria do not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gongfucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great central location near to the harbour. We stayed in a Studio on the fourth floor facing onto Oswego Street. Clean and modern décor, with good facilities. Helpful staff at reception and in the bar. Quite quiet despite it's central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego as your place to stay at whilst visiting Victoria.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I just had my book review party at the Oswego Hotel in their O'Bistro restaurant and lounge and later in The Kingston Suite. I have to say that everything exceeded my expectations. The planning of the event with their event coordinator went very smoothly and everything I asked for was accommodated. On the day the staff were very professional and helpful in every way. Everyone at the launch, some who had never been to the hotel before, said how impressed they were. The buffet was beautifully presented and delicious. Definitely the best venue in Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDenVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel for your special event. We recognize that there are many choices of venues in Victoria and we are so glad that the launch went well and was seamless due in part to the staff's attention to detail.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

In the meantime continued success with your new book and your kind comments I will pass onto the Oswego team

Thank you!

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Oswego Hotel is nicely decorated in a modern style, with a spacious, contemporary bar and restaurant. The room was large and well appointed with kitchen area and lovely bathroom. Nice finishings and touches throughout. We loved how close it was to walk to the waterfront and many of the main attractions of Victoria. Only issue was the bed, we had a room with a murphy bed and it felt a bit like a sofabed, not too comfortable and a bit rickety. Recommend the hotel replace the murphy beds. It's still a great place to stay, just avoid rooms with those beds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fish19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities. From your review you stated that you stayed in one of our Studio suites. The murphy bed product is in a small portion of this suite type. We are currently in the process of removal of the murphy beds and are replacing each studio suite with a new queen size bed for better comfort. This will be completed by the end of October 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego when you find your travels bring you back to Victoria.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in a spacious one-bedroom suite at the Oswego, which included a fully equipped kitchenette with granite counters, living room, separate bedroom, and full bath with tub and separate shower. The decor was modern and tasteful, in muted tones, and everything seemed clean. The bed was comfortable. The only slightly odd thing was that we had to go through the living room/kitchen area to get to the bathroom. Not a huge problem for a couple--just took some getting used to. The location is very convenient (two blocks from ferry terminal and within easy walking distance of the main tourist area by the harbor) yet quiet. We got a great deal on the room, so we couldn't complain about the lack of a great view from the small balcony.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a harbor view (on an upper floor) you will have to pay a bit more. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallpkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel.

We hope that you come back and stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I rate the Oswego Hotel an excellent value. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean and comfortable. Our suite was large. We took advantage of the many places within walking distance from which you can buy breakfast supplies, which you can then prepare in your mini-kitchen. The decor was spartan -- but then, do you really need hotel-quality art? And you can't beat the location. It's easy to walk to anything and everything in the old part of town. We could have walked right from the ferry to the hotel, luggage and all. The staff were friendly and always available. Parking is reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view but are more expensive. Our third-floor room had no view. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed the hotel and its location. I am sorry that 'we were nothing fancy' as so many of our guests enjoy the luxury and special touches that makes Oswego unique.

We appreciate your comments which will be passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing