We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding boutique hotel”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in room 1002, a 1 bedroom suite. It had a large balconey with a table and 6 chairs and two comfortable arm chairs with 2 sliding glass doors for access to it. The room had granite counter tops in the kitchen area and bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, felt like .. if not .. a TempurPedic. The front desk and wait staff were extremely helpful in getting us setup for a visit to the Buchart Gardens, a must see! Repleat with two flat panel TV's, one was really large! Had a french press for morning coffee also .. very nice!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 694ricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate the feedback and letting other people know how wonderful the Oswego is not just in location but also hotel amenities.

Come back and stay with us again!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a wonderful function at the Hotel in June of this year. We rented a suite on the top floor and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff, the catering and the thoughtfulness the hotel put into having this party be fabulous. Three months later everyone at the party is still talking about what a very special evening that was. We would not hesitate to have a party here again.
The hotel is a delightful and great place to stay at. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. The suites are very well appointed and the views splendid.The turn down service, the slippers, the products are all very nice touches to make this a hotel to stay at for sure when in Victoria.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floors get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlietheBlueJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review to let everyone know of the wonderful event that you had at the Oswego! We appreciate it!

We are so pleased that every detail was achieved and that you and your guests had an enjoyable event with us earlier this year. The Food and Beverage team work hard to provide the best experience not only for our O Bistro guests but also guests of many functions and meetings that we hold at the hotel

We look forward for you returning to stay with us again very soon.

Thank you

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Oswego is perfectly located within walking distance of everything found in the inner harbour area. Staff at the Oswego couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Gorgeous room at a bargain price! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Higher floors have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Marie_Calary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like many of our guests they also love our location partnered with the hotel amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night but probably could have just moved in! We had a 1 bedroom premium suite which was very modern and stylish and would be perfect for entertaining if we were going to be there longer. The fresh apples in the room and the terrycloth robes were nice touches. There was no air conditioning that we could see, but we didn't need it anyway. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun set as the cruise ships sailed in while drinking the in-room white wine was the perfect romantic way to finish off our vacation. Our only disappointment was with the slow service in the O Bistro the next morning for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PastyPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for coming to stay with us!

I will definitely pass on your positive comments to the team. Our apologies for the slow service in the bistro - that is not the norm and we will work with the team to improve this.

We hope that the Oswego Hotel will be your choice to stay at when you return to Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had to cancel our reservation two days before arrival and got charged the one night full cancellation fee. This is a much shorter cancellation period than most premium hotels these days so I was surprised to get caught with the fee especially since even it was just a couple of hours over. We were not even able to keep the first night and change the rest of the reservation without having to upgrade the room. This is the first time this has ever happened to us.
We had hoped to rebook but have changed our minds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank ElizabethSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Our cancellation policies are in line with other hotels, luxury or non luxury.

You had made your reservation via Expedia which have other cancellation policies in place. Your cancellation was very last minute and we did work with Expedia and agreed to charge one night even though the rate and promotion you booked was for multiple nights to receive the rate you did. Expedia also advised that you had made alternative hotel accommodations in error and therefore didn't require the suite at our hotel.

We work with all of our guests on cancellations especially due to illness or emergencies. This situation wasn't either of those situations and also the hotel was 100% full in the busy summer months.

I am sorry that our policies were not to your liking. We hope that you consider the Oswego in the future when you visit.

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Oswego Hotel in Victoria BC. It is a charming well located and easy walk to the downtown-wharf area. Staff were polite and very helpful. We booked a two bedroom suite which included a small kitchen area with nice amenities. On-site, secured parking is a plus and allowed us to stash the car and instead take taxis for dinner when we didn't want to deal with parking or driving during the busy weekend when we visited.
There are a couple of things that would have improved our experience---the common seating area furniture needed some repair upon closer look and the seagulls happily celebrate early in the am which might bother light sleepers.

We will return for certain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBeaverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and also for choosing the Oswego hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel is constantly upgrading and refreshing our furniture as required. We will continue to address the furniture in the suite that you stayed in.

With regards to the Seagulls, yes they are everywhere and can tend to be vocal especially in the mornings.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the downtown wharf area (10 minutes if strolling), and takes you past the BC Museum and the parliament building. The checkin process was smooth. The rooms are big, and so are the beds! We also had a kitchenette so breakfast was quick to sort out. We visited in summer, and they had a portable air/con unit in the room (I noticed some other reviews said that there was no a/c - maybe this is a recent addition). The concierge was helpful in giving us ideas for things to do, and is also able to book tickets for us. The other staff were also helpful! The hotel is pet friendly - eve though I saw a couple of dogs in the building, I certainly didn't hear them at night. There is also a restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, our amenities and location.

The majority of the hotel suites have balconies. We do have a small portion that don't and therefore air circulation can be an issue in the summer months. In these suites only as they are smaller we have added portable air conditioning units. These are removed in the winter months.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Victoria that you will come and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,137 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,080 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $105 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing