We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was clean and fabulous. It's fitted with modern decor and furniture, and everything still looks brand new. Having a kitchenette stocked with dishes and cookware was very convenient - getting a hotel was a must for the purpose of this trip.

It's in a quiet location, within easy walking distance of the Legislature, the Empress, the Victoria Clipper, and the rest of the inner harbour.

The front desk staff were very professional and friendly.

I dined at the restaurant once, and the food was amazing, though the portion sizes were a bit small for the prices of each dish.

The only thing I didn't like about my stay was that after housekeeping had finished with my room, they kept all of the lights on and turned on the radio. It was creepy walking back into the room at the end of the day because it felt like there was someone was in my room. Even so, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Oswego again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winedineexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Great review - thank you for taking the time to let people know about your positive experience with us.

We truly appreciate that you chose the Oswego hotel to stay at whilst visiting Victoria.

Our guest experience is important - we do add music and small touches to enhance that experience. My apologies that you found the music a little unsettling.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    365
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
359
754
70
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely hotel. Clean and modern. Just a few minutes walk from the centre of Victoria but set in very peaceful environment. Extremely friendly and helpful staff with good recommendations for places to go and eat

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review - we appreciate you as our hotel guest.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour of the area. The hotel was much more impressive than we had expected. The kitchen facilities were great. The interior has been stylishly designed. We had a small balcony and if i had any complain it would be the ratio of chairs on the balcony to adults staying in the room - two chairs for 4 people doesn't work. There was a comfortable sofa (although again not enough lounge seating for 4 adults without someone using the dining chairs or breakfast bar). It is in a quiet area but easily walkable to the main Victoria waterfront area. The restaurant had live jazz one of the evenings which seemed really popular. Staff on reception are really helpful. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: aim for one of the higher floors with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff.

Our apologies that you didn't feel enough chairs in your suite.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Oswego in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Oswego for four nights. The suite was spacious and well equipped, and had a comfortable bed and great shower. We made minimum use of kitchen area, but it was good to have the option. There is ample room to relax either in the lounge area or on the balcony.
We had breakfast in the restaurant each day, served by great staff, who were cheerful and chatty.
The hotel is in a really good location, near places of interest but off the main drag.
I would definitely recommend the Osewgo to others as a superb place to stay while in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow - thank you so much for such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the O Bistro. I will definitely pass on your comments to the team.

Our location is loved by many of our guests like yourselves that enjoy being on the quieter side of the inner harbor but a close walk to everything.

Come back and visit us again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was surprisingly large with a lounge and kitchenette attached. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the harbour and city. The staff were quite happy for us to leave the car in their underground parking while we wandered around the city, even though we had already checked out. Overall it was a very easy and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Whilst you are staying with us your overall experience is the most important thing. I am glad that you enjoyed not only our great location but also the amenities and staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego hotel in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love this hotel, except for the lack of air conditioning. It's been very hot in Victoria for the last few days and the room has felt like a sauna. In addition, the water from the tap tastes a bit weird, so some free bottles of water would be much appreciated, as opposed the $5 bottle in the fridge.

Other than that, the food is quite good in the restaurant and the service there is very good.

The bed is comfortable and the room is spacious. It's very close to the Clipper terminal without being on the main road. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Try leaving your balcony door open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate your recent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In Victoria there are very few hotels with air conditioning. We have had a warm summer this year and this is not the norm therefore, causing some of our suites to be warmer than usual. Most of our guests find that the ocean breeze cools things down and the fact that the windows can open along with fans in all the suites, helps with this cooling.

We hope that you choose the Oswego hotel again on your next visit to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the nicest hotel we've ever stayed! The hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. The hotel s well maintained and ver clean. Very nice decor in the common areas as well as the rooms. Nice bar/ restaurant. The hotel is very detail oriented and they didn't miss anything (apples and lemon ice water in the lobby). We had booked a studio which was spacious with a well stocked kitchen for longer stays. Excellent location (5 minute walk tithe ferry, 8 minutes to the Empress Hotel). This is a DOG FRIENDLY hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILVKDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We strive to give all of our guests a special and unique experience whilst staying with us. Our attention to detail is important on achieving this.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego hotel in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing