We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great facilities”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour of the area. The hotel was much more impressive than we had expected. The kitchen facilities were great. The interior has been stylishly designed. We had a small balcony and if i had any complain it would be the ratio of chairs on the balcony to adults staying in the room - two chairs for 4 people doesn't work. There was a comfortable sofa (although again not enough lounge seating for 4 adults without someone using the dining chairs or breakfast bar). It is in a quiet area but easily walkable to the main Victoria waterfront area. The restaurant had live jazz one of the evenings which seemed really popular. Staff on reception are really helpful. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: aim for one of the higher floors with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff.

Our apologies that you didn't feel enough chairs in your suite.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Oswego in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for The Oswego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Oswego for four nights. The suite was spacious and well equipped, and had a comfortable bed and great shower. We made minimum use of kitchen area, but it was good to have the option. There is ample room to relax either in the lounge area or on the balcony.
We had breakfast in the restaurant each day, served by great staff, who were cheerful and chatty.
The hotel is in a really good location, near places of interest but off the main drag.
I would definitely recommend the Osewgo to others as a superb place to stay while in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Wow - thank you so much for such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the O Bistro. I will definitely pass on your comments to the team.

Our location is loved by many of our guests like yourselves that enjoy being on the quieter side of the inner harbor but a close walk to everything.

Come back and visit us again very soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was surprisingly large with a lounge and kitchenette attached. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the harbour and city. The staff were quite happy for us to leave the car in their underground parking while we wandered around the city, even though we had already checked out. Overall it was a very easy and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Whilst you are staying with us your overall experience is the most important thing. I am glad that you enjoyed not only our great location but also the amenities and staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego hotel in the very near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love this hotel, except for the lack of air conditioning. It's been very hot in Victoria for the last few days and the room has felt like a sauna. In addition, the water from the tap tastes a bit weird, so some free bottles of water would be much appreciated, as opposed the $5 bottle in the fridge.

Other than that, the food is quite good in the restaurant and the service there is very good.

The bed is comfortable and the room is spacious. It's very close to the Clipper terminal without being on the main road. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Try leaving your balcony door open...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We appreciate your recent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In Victoria there are very few hotels with air conditioning. We have had a warm summer this year and this is not the norm therefore, causing some of our suites to be warmer than usual. Most of our guests find that the ocean breeze cools things down and the fact that the windows can open along with fans in all the suites, helps with this cooling.

We hope that you choose the Oswego hotel again on your next visit to Victoria.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the nicest hotel we've ever stayed! The hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. The hotel s well maintained and ver clean. Very nice decor in the common areas as well as the rooms. Nice bar/ restaurant. The hotel is very detail oriented and they didn't miss anything (apples and lemon ice water in the lobby). We had booked a studio which was spacious with a well stocked kitchen for longer stays. Excellent location (5 minute walk tithe ferry, 8 minutes to the Empress Hotel). This is a DOG FRIENDLY hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILVKDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We strive to give all of our guests a special and unique experience whilst staying with us. Our attention to detail is important on achieving this.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego hotel in the not to distant future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we stayed only one night with our two children and had the luck to be upgraded to a two-bedroom-suite. the staff was most helpful and friendly, beautiful big room, well equipped kitchen and
overwhelming views of the surroundings - plus a newspaper delivered to our room in the morning - definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: if you chose one of the upper rooms you have a wonderful view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent positive review. We really appreciate you choosing the Oswego Hotel as your hotel of choice in Victoria.

Please come back and visit us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked a studio suite for 2 nights here. The room was great, much bigger than expected and the murphy bed was perfectly comfortable for both of us. The staff was super friendly and helpful, remembering our name and greeting us any time we came by. The kitchen in suite looked to have everything you would need to cook just about anything (we didn't cook on this trip). We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and reading both in the morning and the evening. The hotel had been notified that it was our anniversary and left chocolate truffles and a nice card in our room on check-in. They held our luggage for us both on arrival day and departure day. We have stayed various places in Victoria, however this is our new favorite and we will be back!

Room Tip: More views the higher up you are.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendakcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel to celebrate this special occasion. Our team work hard to provide a wonderful guest experience and the 'small details' are important to provide our guests not just with a wonderful guest experience but an exceptional guest experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $124 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing