We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Home away from Home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“A Home away from Home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently returned from our 3 night stay at the Oswego Hotel in Victoria and enjoyed the spacious comfortable clean quiet 2 bedroom suite for the 3 of us. The staff is friendly and helpful. The full size kitchen was perfect to prepare our daily breakfast. If you are looking for a Suite and not just a 2 bed hotel room this is the place to stay! This will be our 1st Choice Hotel when we return to Victoria in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rs3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay the Oswego Hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us.

We are an all suite hotel and all of our suites are alot more spacious than a regular hotel room, Many of our guests enjoy the hotel amenities and our Bistro on site but also enjoy the flexibility of cooking also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    332
    83
    30
    19
See reviews for
316
669
65
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wondered what I would find since some of the reviews talked about noise and hard beds. The truth is that we arrived late due to flight delays and they checked us in pretty fast and they were very welcoming. The room we got was an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, really nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the location was within two blocks walk to the waterfront. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would go back again and again. The Bistro can get busy being a small place but there are many other options nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is new. We stayed in a single bedroom suite. The room was great. It had a nice kitchen. The first day the room was close to the kitchen of the restaurant. So we asked to change it. We got a different room after that. The room had ceiling to floor glass windows.

Helpful?
Thank lagnam123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Positives: location is convenient to the waterfront, BC Museum, downtown, numerous restaurants, and attractions; staff is uniformly friendly, welcoming, and competent; and our studio suites (we stayed a night at both the beginning and end of a trip on Vancouver Island) were spotlessly clean, comfortable (including the Murphy bed). Banish any memories or reservations you might have about "fold out beds"! They're more of an Asian platform bed, firm-but-not-hard and wonderfully comfortable. Our rooms were quiet, cozy, and well furnished. The room rate includes a discount card for the in-house restaurant, where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts and a late dessert. Secure underground parking is an added bonus, in a destination where traffic and parking can be challenging.

The Negatives: Simply put, we couldn't find any!

The Oswego will be our "home" any time we come to Victoria, without question.

Room Tip: Despite some initial concern about the Murphy bed in the suite, we found it extremely comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked this hotel online without reading anything about it. I had booked a studio suite for my wife and I to stay in, when I arrived and checked in they asked if I wanted to upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite for just a few dollars more and am I glad I did. The studio suite is nice but they are murphy beds that fold down. The suite was nicely appointed and exceptionally spacious. They do not have a pool which is a small inconvenience, but these boutique hotels usually don't. There is no spa in the hotel but they do have a company that they use to book spa therapies that come and do them in your room. The hotel is quite central and located so that you can walk to downtown and the harbor area. I would recommend this hotel for anyone - but I would say to book a 1 bedroom suite if there are two of you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Oswego Hotel for 5 nights in February 2013, and absolutely loved it. At first we were a bit skeptical because it was a cheaper than a lot of the other hotels in the area, however once we checked in we were pretty amazed. The rooms and bathroom were very spacious and clean. We were surprised to have a kitchenette in the room, which had everything you would need (although we didn't use anything other than the kettle).

Location was excellent - in a quiet part of the city but still a walkable distance to everything. Located just down the road (about 1min walk) from the British Columbia Legislature Building and about 5 - 10 mins from Downtown/The Bay Centre. Also a great location if you catch the Sea Plane.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and I forgot all about it being a pet-friendly hotel until a dog got in the lift with us.

Overall, a very good start to our trip and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichmellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego to stay at whilst visiting Victoria and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad that you found the studio suite comfortable. We do run promotions on this room type which makes them very affordable with a kitchen.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel if you find yourselves back in Victoria.

Thank you

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bed suite. It was nice to have a full kitchen, so rather than eat out we were able to have breakfast in and one night we even cooked a meal.
The location is ideal. You do have to walk to get to the 'action' but it's only 5-10 minutes and who doesn't need to walk more?
We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant, so can't comment on that.
My only real concern was the the refrigerator is VERY loud. We had to close the door to the bed room so it's didn't wake us. The other concern what that the suite needed to be dusted a little better (this could just be me, I'm rather fussy with dusting!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 2,197 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing