We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend getaway”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at this establishment. The hotel is a very easy walk to downtown and since the weather was good, we also walked to Beacon Hill park and back. We decided to go with an upgrade upon arrival and while the view was nice I don't know that I would spend money on it again. The upgrade wasn't that expensive though so it was a nice treat as we typically never get an upgrade. We didn't spend too much time in the room any way. We had a very nice breakfast in the hotel restaurant with attentive service and reasonable prices. The staff was very friendly and the front desk staff had no problem arranging an airport shuttle for us at the end of our stay as well as keeping our luggage behind the desk for a couple hours after we checked out. While we did not get a deal when booking I would go back.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbour, select an upper floor room, it will require an upgrade/ additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandT_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are grateful for you choosing the Oswego Hotel to stay at whilst you were in Victoria.

We do offer specials throughout the year so please check our website or call the hotel directly.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, facilities and staff and that they went above on the levels of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,524 - 1,530 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. The room was very spacious, we had a 1 bedroom with a pull out. Having a full kitchen was really nice for us to stay in one night and cook our own meal. The location close to the harbor and easy walking to downtown. We loved our getaway in Victoria and the Oswego was the icing on the cake. I got a great deal in Expedia, $88.00 per night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We appreciate the positive review of your recent stay with us.

The One Bedroom suites are the majority of the larger suites that we have and are very spacious with full kitchen and balcony.

From time to time we do run some specials on our hotel website and various online websites - please check and also contact the hotel directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego in the near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my forth stay at the Oswego Victoria and my first time posting a review! This stay was simply perfection! This was a family vacation and four of us stayed in a two bedroom premium suite. The service is always outstanding but what made it so noteworthy was the service provided for my dog. We made note upon booking that we would be bringing our family pet, but when we arrived he was welcomed with treats, a dog bowl, a dog bed, dog walking map and baggies!

When staying at the Oswego you will receive a boutique hotel style feel. The rooms are completely modernized and the decor is gorgeous! The kitchen is always impeccably kept and ready to use which is perfect for making your own breakfast or even all meals (all of which we have done during our stay).

This is my go-to when staying in Victoria truly our home away from home!

Room Tip: If a view is an important part of your vacation, pay the extra for a premium suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We value our guests and especially our loyal guests...and their special family and furry friends that travel with them!

We are so glad you enjoyed the Oswego not just once, but the various times you have stayed with us. The team work hard to provide an exceptional guest experience - I will pass on you wonderful positive comments to the hardworking team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel provides spacious and comfortable rooms studio suites giving the opportunity to self cater. However, the kitchen equipment looked absolutely unused apart from kettle, iron etc. Hotel also provides laundry facilities. The restaurant is very good but when we were there they were understaffed, hence one point down on the final score. It is in easy walking distance of the shopping district and even closer to the waterfront. Happy memories

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are very grateful that you chose the Oswego during your last visit to Victoria.

I am sorry for the understaffing levels at the bistro and we will continue to work with the team to improve the timing of food service and standards in the O Bistro.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read other reviews of this property, and based on the description of the murphy bed, we decided to stay in a one bedroom suite. The bed was super comfortable, and the only complaint I have about the stay was that we were woken up by vehicular traffic in the morning so there isn't much soundproofing, also probably because we were only on the second floor. We had our dog with us, and it was nice that they provided a dog bed and bowls. We only stayed the one night because our place was being painted, but it is a great location for tourists because it is within walking distance to a lot of attractions and the local grocery store, Thrifty's is only a short walk away.

Room Tip: If you only need parking for the evenings, don't bother paying for it at the hotel. The streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comfort_Traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a online review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location- very close to the main harbour area of downtown Victoria but outside of the hustle and bustle. 3 minute walk to the main attractions.
The rooms are large and have all the useful amenities required ( including a large refrigerator and a cook top.)
Would have given this a 5/5 but the bed was pretty hard and is a Murphy bed...which was surprising.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review.

Please come back and visit us again. Next time please contact me directly and I would like to ensure you are placed in a One Bedroom suite for the duration of your stay. The murphy beds are only in our studio suites which is a very small room type we have available for our guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently landed at the Oswego by default as the other hotel had a power outage. We were very pleased that we made the switch. We had a one bedroom suite, with a full kitchen, balcony, beautiful bathroom. There was a special rate in October/November which included parking and 20% dining in the hotel, a great deal at $119. Bath robes, full size fridge, stove, you could live there! Not a great view, looking at the apartments behind but bright with a big balcony! Over by the Parliaments buildings so further away from downtown. We walked from the Royal Theater, a bit of a walk, maybe 20 minutes, but along the waterfront causeway, beautiful views. Cab is only $6. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sistersaway1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $101 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing