We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel provides spacious and comfortable rooms studio suites giving the opportunity to self cater. However, the kitchen equipment looked absolutely unused apart from kettle, iron etc. Hotel also provides laundry facilities. The restaurant is very good but when we were there they were understaffed, hence one point down on the final score. It is in easy walking distance of the shopping district and even closer to the waterfront. Happy memories

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are very grateful that you chose the Oswego during your last visit to Victoria.

I am sorry for the understaffing levels at the bistro and we will continue to work with the team to improve the timing of food service and standards in the O Bistro.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read other reviews of this property, and based on the description of the murphy bed, we decided to stay in a one bedroom suite. The bed was super comfortable, and the only complaint I have about the stay was that we were woken up by vehicular traffic in the morning so there isn't much soundproofing, also probably because we were only on the second floor. We had our dog with us, and it was nice that they provided a dog bed and bowls. We only stayed the one night because our place was being painted, but it is a great location for tourists because it is within walking distance to a lot of attractions and the local grocery store, Thrifty's is only a short walk away.

Room Tip: If you only need parking for the evenings, don't bother paying for it at the hotel. The streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comfort_Traveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a online review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location- very close to the main harbour area of downtown Victoria but outside of the hustle and bustle. 3 minute walk to the main attractions.
The rooms are large and have all the useful amenities required ( including a large refrigerator and a cook top.)
Would have given this a 5/5 but the bed was pretty hard and is a Murphy bed...which was surprising.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review.

Please come back and visit us again. Next time please contact me directly and I would like to ensure you are placed in a One Bedroom suite for the duration of your stay. The murphy beds are only in our studio suites which is a very small room type we have available for our guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently landed at the Oswego by default as the other hotel had a power outage. We were very pleased that we made the switch. We had a one bedroom suite, with a full kitchen, balcony, beautiful bathroom. There was a special rate in October/November which included parking and 20% dining in the hotel, a great deal at $119. Bath robes, full size fridge, stove, you could live there! Not a great view, looking at the apartments behind but bright with a big balcony! Over by the Parliaments buildings so further away from downtown. We walked from the Royal Theater, a bit of a walk, maybe 20 minutes, but along the waterfront causeway, beautiful views. Cab is only $6. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sistersaway1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night in the one bedroom apartment. It was very nice and felt very homely. The staff are very good and friendly and the hotel was very well located and presented. It is very close to downtown Victoria and many attractions like the BC museum .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a postive review about your stay with us.

We hope that you come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Oswego for three nights, in a serviced apartment.

It is really difficult for me to find anything to critisize at all, as it was an excellent experience. The rooms were beautiful, everything worked, the service was excellent, the internet was free/fast/reliable, and little luxuries such as a guest laundry made our stay a great experience.

The only things I can think of that I think could be improved at all are the gym - in order to get to it you have to walk past the bar on ground level, so basically through the restaurant, which during busy times could potentially be awkward. It would be great if a yoga mat was added to the gym, otherwise it was good.
The vaccuuming behind the furniture could have been more thorough; we had a piece of clothing fall off/behind an armchair and it came back covered in dust.
The flyer in the apartment that advertised in-room massages made some unrealistic claims about "de-toxing".

But that will not take away from a solid and well-deserved five stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Read the great reviews here, and they are all true! The 2-BR suite was very nice, and the room has a huge porch for my 6-yo to run around in! :) Very comfortable beds, elegant decor, a bottle of wine and a bowl of apples on the kitchen counter. Michael at the desk was very helpful and friendly. Walking distance to the Victoria Clipper dock and Coho Ferry. Too bad we could only stay for a night, but will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyRNA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for posting a review.

Like many of our guests reading honest feedback on our property by reviews like yourself - make the decision of which hotel to stay at. We are glad that you chose the Oswego to stay at during your visit to Victoria. We are also so pleased that you loved the hotel.

Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,146 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,587 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $100 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Hotwire so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing