We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and clean and perfect location”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern and clean and perfect location”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice hotel- very modern. Only a few blocks from the ferry and a quick walk to everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshell776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    385
    88
    37
    21
See reviews for
384
804
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Didn't know what to expect. It was our first time travelling with our 4month old puppy. We were pleasantly surprised when they came to our room shortly after checking in with a beautiful doggy bed, chic doggy dishes and stand, biodegradable doggy bags, organic wheat free doggy biscuits and a map of dog parks and trails! There was a spot to let her relieve herself right on the side of the hotel. They were truly pet FRIENDLY not merely pet tolerant like some other hotels.

It's not just for pet owners. Infact, you'd never guess that it was a pet friendly hotel just by looking at it, inside and out. It's so clean and modern lookin. Not a trace of animal smell. Even the grass was in good shape. It's very quiet as well.

Our room was stunning. We got a studio room which was still pretty spacious. A handy little kitchen, well stocked. Delicious French press coffee. Fresh apples in the room. Big windows. Beautiful bathroom with both a stand up shower and a big tub. Room service (breakfast) was fast and inexpensive ($25 incl tip and rm
service charge). Staff were very acommodating and friendly.

Located within walking distance from the harbour, off leash park, all the action downtown. And it is by far the best bang for your buck in Victoria.

DO NOT OVERLOOK THE OSWEGO HOTEL. WE'LL BE BACK MANY TIMES WITH OUR PUP! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayFitLiveBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We are so glad you and your 4 month old pup had a great time staying with us recently.

We LOVE pets and welcome them as part of our extended Oswego family. Therefore, we feel they must have the best treats and sleeping bedding that we can give.....its the little things that we do for all of guests to let them know how much we value their business - including our four legged furry friends. All the staff love welcoming your extended family into your home away from home at the Oswego Hotel.

I will definately forward your kind words to the hard working team.

We really look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.....the doggy bed, chic doggy dishes and stand, biodegradable doggy bags, organic wheat free doggy biscuits and a map of dog parks and trails - will be waiting!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Walking distance to central Victoria but on a quiet side street near the harbour. Really clean, contemporary hotel with helpful staff. Reasonable rate for secure underground parking and regular deals offered to entice you to eat at the bistro which was a little pricey.
One of few hotels in Victoria who will accept full size dogs - notify when booking.
Gets our recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Oswego hotel.

Yes we do run various specials for our bistro. All of our hotel guests receive 20% off in our Bistro and lots of our guests really like this feature. On our menu we offer both small plates and large plates options. Our menu changes seasonally and we have a great new chef so checkout out website for special culinary features and specials coming soon.

We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Forget the Fairmont and stay here! I had to transfer from another hotel while awaiting my husbands arrival. Arrived at the Oswego soaking wet having trundled my suitcase from the other end of town. My room wasn't ready, as it was only 10.30 am, so I was offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra $12. It was bliss, really comfortable, spacious, lovely french coffee press, towelling robe in the bathroom and full length sliding glass doors in the sitting area and bedroom with an enormous balcony. Great kitchen area with huge fridge. Free Wifi was a bonus too. I wasn't able to eat in the restaurant in the evening as they had a party booked it but the menu looked good. I stayed in the Fairmont the next night and wasn't nearly so comfortable.
Thanks Oswego.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroomed suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Wow, thank you so much for a raving review about your stay with us.

We think that the Fairmont Empress is a majestic hotel - however, the Oswego Hotel offers a wonderful experience for our guests from a smaller more intimate size hotel.

I will definately pass on your kind words to the hordworking Oswego team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego next time you visit Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the Oswego and we were very pleased. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, with tile and granite, seperate glass shower stall in the bathroom, and a small fully equipped kitchen.
The room was clean and very bright, with large windows and great views of the city.
The fold-down wall bed was very comfortable. Our room was pet-friendly. Apparently they have designated rooms available for travellers with pets.
High speed Internet worked great and was free, but they did charge $10 for parking.
Definitely would recommend the Oswego!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a 2br suite on the 6th floor at the rate of $429 per night which was a bit pricey for what you got. The suite was well furnished to contemporary style. The rooms were of adequate size with queen bed in both room. the master had the ensuite and the second bathroom is off the entrance. The kitchen is fairly small as were the lounge and dining area. so overall it always felt a little cramp, depending on what one is use to. There is a very small balcony which one can sit out for a cup of tea/coffee. The apartments are Not air-conditioned, hence some windows need to be left open in summer days to cool it for the evening. We were probably a little unlucky in that one of the evenings the squawking of the seagulls were quite loud (I know it is seaside but they were crazy ;) ) and kept us awake a bit. But that seemed to settle down in the other nights. The location is good, easy walking distance to all the attractions and inner harbour.
The maid service is indeed good and generally the room was clean. It is however starting to show some wear and tear and I would suggest to the hotel that some effort to renew simple items such a blinds and lamp shades are due. Little things like that brings an otherwise excellent experience to an average one. The rooms are 4 star appointed but we awarded it 3 stars due to the relative expense of the nightly rate for an essentially smallish 2br suite. There was no washer dryer which is a must in 2brs as it is often rented by families with children. The high speed internet was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hadtobeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were traveling in Vancouver and Victoria for a week and we had spent our nights in several different hotels through out that time. We were delighted to come across this lovely, modern hotel. The suite we stayed in had a large window with a patio, as well as a small kitchen with a table, and all the basics in regards to kitchen utensils (including a full microwave, mini fridge, small dishwasher and small stovetop). Very clean with small details like bathrobes and apples in a bowl on the table. Price was approx. 165 +taxes which we found reasonable considering some of the miserable places we stayed at for around the same price (people justify charging a lot for simply tue location). Located a block from the Inner Harbour and approx a 15 min scenic walk from downtown. Overall it was an excellent experience, and would recommend this for anyone traveling who need a break from the typical hotel room. We walked up to the little grocery store a block up the street and cooked breakfast in our hotel. Enjoyed coffee and the newspaper every morning on our 8th floor deck.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outabout24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing