We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Stay”
Review of Menzies Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Menzies Manor
Ranked #14 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Menzies Manor in May and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations. We booked the ocean walk suite but were up graded to the ocean view suite on arrival. With a full kitchen and big screen TV everything was spotless as we settled in. Just a couple houses are between Menzies Manor and the coast walk way and the harbor and city center are only a 10-15 minute walk in the other direction. Also, there is a grocery store 2 blocks away.

With 4 separate suites and laundry facilities sharing the building, I was surprised how quiet and private our space was. They also had off street parking available. We had a great stay at Menzies Manor and recommend this property to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RPS080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are a group of hikers from Niagara Falls area that stayed at Menzies Manor before and after heading out to hike the West Coast Trail. (August 2012) These accomodations are great! Central location - about 10-15 walk from the city centre and 2 minutes to the ocean trail.
Very clean, large apartments. We booked the two units in the lower level.
Full king size bed (very comfortable) and a pull out couch (also comfortable).
Coffee and tea provided. Coffee maker, toaster, full stove, full fridge, microwave, kettle, dishes, pots and pans- everything that you could possibly need in the kitchen. Also all sheets, towels, hand soap etc all provided. Grocery store, coffee shop, liquor store and restaurants - all about 5-7 minute walk from the apartment. Very safe area - we walked around Victoria and this neighbourhood at night with no concerns.
Mike - our host - was fantastic! From confirmation emails, answering lots of questions before we arrived and so much assistance and support while we were on site. Wonderful, friendly, warm hearted, kind man :)
Some visitors stay for weeks. We stayed a total of 6 nights.
If you go to Victoria for a couple of days or a couple of weeks - this is the place to stay.
When you arrive in Victoria airport, the Akal airport bus will take you directly to the apartment. Cost was approx 19.00 per person - so worth it, because you get door to door service.
If you have any questions regarding the apts you can email me personally at ryoungquestcom@hotmail.com.
When we go back to Victoria we will stay at Menzies Manor again.

Room Tip: Two lower level apts great! - We used both. Accomodated 4 people with lots of room. Also beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LastCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth mn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed with the Killins each time we have been in Victoria. It is without a doubt one of the cleanest, quietest places we have stayed in all our travels. The hosts have been very good to us and responsive to anything that has come up. The accomodations are roomy and those with a deck are very nice to enjoy coffee, wine, dinner and anything else you might like. Just steps from the beach, walking path and a short, healthy walk to th inner harbour. I highly recommend Menzies to one and all!!!

Room Tip: We like the Ocean Walk rooms on the back of the buliding. No ocean view but very large enclosed deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmoreDuluthMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have been here before and loved it on our own. This time we went for a family affair together with great grandmother, grandparents, children and grandchildren. The house is divided into several self contained suites - one and two bedroom - each with well equipped bathrooms and kitchens. It is located 2 houses from Dallas Road and the ocean, and a 15 minute walk to the Inner Harbour and downtown shops and restaurants.

Mike and Arne Killins were very hospitable and helpful throughout our stay. The lovely part was that the upper suite was very roomy and provided a great end of day gathering place for the family as well as a wonderful set-up for whole family dinners.

All in all, I cannot recommend this place highly enough, for its location as well as comfort and convenience.

I look forward to staying there again on future trips out west

Room Tip: The large upstairs suite is best but largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aryono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

After doing days of research for our BC trip I came across this little gem of a place in James Bay. It's a lovely house broken up into apartments. We chose the African Suite and it was just perfect for our needs. It's in a quiet, residential area but within easy walking distance of the city and with parking space at the back of the house.
The apartment is quite compact but even with 2 small kids we never felt on top of each other. The boys slept on a pull out sofa, while we had a separate bedroom with one of the largest beds I've ever seen.
The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and more, with a lovely large dining table that fitted the 4 of us easily. Everything was spotlessly clean too.
Spacious bathroom, plenty of lovely fluffy towels and a comfy tub to soak in.There is also a laundry room nest to the suite and access to a laptop 24 hours a day.
The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful with local information, (thank you Mike)


From the house it was spitting distance to the beach and a lovely walk along the beachfront or to Beacon Hill Park just a couple of minutes away. It would take us about 10 minutes with 2 dawdling kids to walk into downtown Victoria and just 3 or 4 minutes to get to a food store and fantastic fish and chip/Chinese restaurant.
All in all we absolutely loved it here and if ever happen to be in Victoria again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forevared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menzies Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Manor

Property: Menzies Manor
Address: 19 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2G1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menzies Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location,location,location. Menzies Manor located minutes from the Inner harbour, restaurants. Steps to Beacon Hill Park, Ocean walkway. Who needs a car. Free Parking, Menzies beautiful full suites allow for a complete restful holiday, after a full day of walking around our beautiful city enjoy the comforts of home. Weekly, monthly rentals available. Free Wifi, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Menzies Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing