We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Marketa's for one night in June 2013, and it was not long enough!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Marketa and her staff are wonderful and who could forget "Mr. T", the delightful house dog. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Location is perfect on a quiet tree-lined street minutes away from downtown Victoria. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    90
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
204
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in room 2 which is one of the lower end rooms. We were told it was "simple". In reality, it was very dingy, pretty dumpy in all honesty. It's in very dire need of basic upkeep. Nothing a handyman couldn't deal with. But I don't think there's any upkeep on the "simple" rooms. There are no hooks for towels in the bathroom, the mirror is to the left of the sink so shaving is a challenge, carpets should have been replaced 10 years ago. Similar with the bedspread which looks like something from the 80s and appeared pretty dirty.

The breakfast was OK. However, it starts at 8:30. They take your order and then start cooking so it's about an hour before you're on your way. If you like to have some flexibility on when you start your day, we find that most places serve earlier and take your order the night before so you're eating shortly after you sit down.

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msgypsy, Owner at Marketa's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear guest Glenn,

thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay.
I wish that you had come and talk to us so could try to find a solution which would make you happy.
I do need to point out that since you mentioned youth hostel rooms I like to compare prices : Hostel International is charging $88cd +taxes for a room with shared bathroom, Backpackers Inn Hostel is $87cd +taxes no breakfast included.
The straight cost of food is $12 per person so when you take that of the price of the room you are paying $81.00 which less then either hostel.
I am sorry if you had to wait for breakfast but since make everything fresh it does take about 20 minutes to cook. Most of the guests enjoy chatting with other travelers and exchanging stories. Maybe you did not noticed that on the menu we ask the guests who are in a hurry or need to eat earlier to let us know and can provide nice continental breakfast.
Once again thank you for your comments .
With kind regards,
Marketa and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Marketa’s was our first experience with a B&B. We would definitely come back to Marketa’s. We stayed three wonderful nights in room #4.
We arrived on Monday around 1:00 pm and had an envelope on the front door with our name on it. Inside were our keys and a very helpful instruction letter. It was really nice to be able to relax a little after arriving from Seattle on the seaplane. Room #4 was very nicely decorated and clean. It exceeded our expectations.
I cannot say enough about the location. It is within walking distance of ALL the wonderful attractions the Inner Harbor has to offer. We did a lot of walking. There is nothing like a Jacuzzi bath after a day of walking.
Breakfast was large very delicious. The presentation was spectacular. Marketa’s cooks a full breakfast, from a whole menu of choices. The muffins straight from the oven were to die for. We cannot say enough about Marketa’s girls in the morning.
We will definitely stay with Marketa’s again if we get back to this part of the world, and highly recommend her place to everyone. Marketa's was definitely a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staying at Marketas Bed and Breakfast is a splendid choice if you are going to Victoria BC. I stayed in a very nice room, with good upkeep, for which I paid a reasonable price. I slept very well. The breakfast was good, a delicious menu to choice from and also very good coffee. For me, traveling by myself this time, the meeting with other guests around the breakfast table was a very pleasant way to start the day. Marketa and her staff are all in good spirit, caring and helpful and contributing to a feeling of being relaxed and at ease although far away from home.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hhskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Marketa's last week for two nights. It is a nice, little and cute place, located 10 walking minutes away from the Inner Harbor and 5 walking minutes away from the Fisherman's Wharf. We basically walk or take bus to go any where we wanted to go. The owner planted flowers all around the B&B building. Obviously the flowers from the garden were used to decorate our room, which is very nice. The breakfast is wonderful. Marketa's and her staff actually sit us down, took our order, and cooked the breakfast for us per order. However, the B&B appears a little bit old and the room is a little bit small. That is why I only give it a four star not five star. We would definately stay there again if we go back to Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed in this bed & breakfast for 1 night only for a quick visit to Victoria. We were surprised about how close it is to the center of Victoria. You will only have to walk for 10 to 15 minutes to reach the center of the city. The b&b is situated in a quiet neighbourhood so there is not much noise from the streets.
We stayed in one of the basic rooms with a private bathroom. The room itself was small and there was not much place to put down our suitcases. Next to that, our room was next to the kitchen, and we could hear people walk by very clearly, so the place is a bit noisy. The bathroom is sufficient.
The breakfast was great. It was nice to share the large tables with other guests. The food was outstanding, everything was fresh and so tasty! We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June and really ended this quaint and quirky B&B. It is located close to downtown Seattle, the ferry docks and Fisherman's Wharf. Our room was pleasantly decorated and clean. The breakfasts were first class and the communal tables were a good way of meeting people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,749 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketa's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketa's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 239 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marketa's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast offers a unique taste of traditional hospitality mixed with European flair. As soon as you walk into this heritage home built in 1912, the panelled walls echo a different era. An era of Edwardian comfort and hospitality, a place to rest and recuperate after a day investigating the many treasures of Victoria BC, the garden city of Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marketa's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketa`s Hotel Victoria
Marketa`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing