We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend made better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend made better”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in B&B's all over the world and Marketa's up there with the best of them. The home is a beautiful Edwardian style decorated with Marketa's own art. The late check in was no problem. I was there to play in a soccer tournament and the Jacuzzi tub and delicious breakfasts really made a difference. When I had an early game and couldn't eat breakfast they saved me a couple of homemade fruit muffins. Wonderful. My teammates staying in a hotel were jealous! I can highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    89
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
203
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marekta's was absolutely phenomenal! Everything from their food to their service was so beyond excellent! We arrived early and she let us choose which room we wanted to stay in, made such a delicious breakfast every morning and when she had found out my fiancé had proposed in our room the night before she made us mimosas. She even left us a bottle of wine and a beautiful snack plate in our room the next evening. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located within a short walk of downtown Victoria, Fisherman's Wharf and the ferry dock, this B&B is a good choice for those that do not want to drive. The B&B, itself, is an old house that is fairly well maintained (not as well as others we have stayed at). Our room was small--the bed took up much of the room--there was no good place to put your suitcase (except on the old-style loveseat), no place to sit if you wanted to watch TV, etc. The bathroom was only adequate--it had a louvered door (for ventilation, I guess) and a small shower. Marketa wasn't feeling well, but was still friendly--she gave us a good recommendation for a "Bohemian" supper club down the street, which was fun. All that said, the breakfast was the high point. I would have preferred having breakfast before 8:30 am, but both mornings she provided a fantastic breakfast--homemade scones or muffins, fresh fruit and juice, and the best Eggs Benedict I have had for years! The breakfast upped my rating from 3 (average) to 4 (average with a good location and a great breakfast).

Room Tip: Don't know about the others, but ours was the only one on the first floor. It was small, but ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A great place to kick back and relax. Beautiful rooms, friendly staff and a warm homelike welcome. Yummy food. Located within a short walk of downtown Victoria and Fisherman's Wharf. Dog friendly. We really enjoyed the self check-in ....the key was left at the front door for us with a welcoming note and we let ourselves in. The sitting room showed us the delightful character of the 101 year old home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annewiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Marketa's suited us beautifully for a Valentine's Day overnight in Victoria. The location is convenient if you don't mind walking a bit. It's in a residential neighborhood about a six-block (10 min.) walk from the Black Ball ferry dock. Another 10 minutes farther down the street is a nice city park and a marina tucked beneath luxury waterfront condos. Walking about 20 minutes from Marketa's back past the ferry slips, the provincial legislative building, Victoria's excellent museum, and the Fairmont Empress Hotel, takes you to Governor Street shopping, dining, and pub life. Of course, you could always take a cab -- or a city bus.
As for Marketa's itself, it has been operated for several years by Marketa herself, a charming, attractive, 40-something woman with a slight Central European (Russian?) accent. Her rooms are clean and well-furnished; ours had a gas fireplace and modern bathroom fixtures. The breakfast was terrific, and cooked to order: eggs, bacon or ham, toast, plenty of fruit and OJ, tea and/or coffee. We could have ordered something more austere, but what the hey, we left our Spartan tastebuds back in Port Angeles.
The establishment is unimposing from the outside, but the interior is cozy, and Marketa could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. Besides the fine breakfast, she dispensed tourist advice, allowed us to store luggage after checkout -- and she left Valentine's candy and a split of sparkling wine in our room for us to find upon returning from dinner on the town. A wonderful surprise . . . and no extra cost!
At a room rate of $100 or so, the value here was exceptional, especially taking into account the Valentine's extras.
I'm a hard grader on TripAdvisor, saving my 5-stars for superior location, luxury, and service. But I gladly give Marketa's four stars for being only a notch below that standard. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this B&B for 5 full nights. Marketas hospitality is unmatched! She is the most pleasant host, and she created a breakfast for the GODS. I have a specialized diet and she found a way to make sure to honor my needs! If I could add a photo of her menu (I took pics of my plate every day) I would upload them.
It is clean, quiet, quaint, and central to everything we needed. In addition it's just a short distance to the beach, which made daily exercise a treat rather than a chore.
I will stay there again and again....
Kim Pacheco

Room Tip: don't put too many bubbles in the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in January 2013. The host was friendly, the room clean and the breakfast was delectable. The place is about a 10 minute walk into town, and very close to Fisherman's Wharf. We met some really nice guests at breakfast as well, which was a great start to our day exploring Victoria. I liked that the kitchen was available for use by all guests as well, as when I stay at a B n B I like to enjoy some wine and nibblies in the room, for which a knife and plate is required. I would stay at Marketa's again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketa's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketa's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 239 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marketa's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast offers a unique taste of traditional hospitality mixed with European flair. As soon as you walk into this heritage home built in 1912, the panelled walls echo a different era. An era of Edwardian comfort and hospitality, a place to rest and recuperate after a day investigating the many treasures of Victoria BC, the garden city of Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Marketa's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketa`s b&b
Marketa`s Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing