We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Victoria
Post
Inbox
Search

“Four for Dinner”

Steamship Grill & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 2/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #165 of 1,383 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friends chose this restaurant for a little celebration and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Great ambiance, excellent food and very good service. What more could anyone want? Well a table with a view over the water perhaps? Well! Guess what they have that in summer. Enjoy winter or summer! We have been by this place so many times but for some reason never stopped in. Now we did and glad we did.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank haroldw148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamship_Grill, General Manager at Steamship Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Harold! We are so glad to stopped by as well and hope to see you again soon. Patio season is upon us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had a terrific "Dine-around" meal in the Steamship Grill& Bar earlier tonight. We had seen the restaurant when we visited the Robert Bateman Gallery upstairs in the summer. It 's steamship decor was beautiful but we thought it would be too expensive. With "Dine-around" at $30 per meal the price was right. And we delighted to have such great service and superb dinners. We both enjoyed the crab bisque as a starter. The main course for me was a tender sirloin steak, My wife had a terrific lobster pasta dish. We both had a wonderful pumpkin brulee for dessert.

We will definitely return, likely in the summer, when the patio will be open.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BMSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamship_Grill, General Manager at Steamship Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the Dine Around menu special. The patio is getting more warm and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for some mid-day libation and had a pitcher of red sangria. It was “ok”. About 2-2 1/2 glasses for each of us two. Tasted ok, a bit dry, not enough liquor. Don’t know if I would have felt much if I had the pitcher to myself.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank delpuertoRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamship_Grill, Owner at Steamship Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on our Sangria. I will have a talk with our bar manager and see if we can adjust our Sangria. Please come visit again so we can win you over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We had a drink then decided to order mussels. We were going to order fish chowder after but the mussels were so big and delicious we had no room left. They had these to die for fries with a sauce that were so tasty. No room for anything else.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rssrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamship_Grill, Owner at Steamship Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal! Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

Reserved a table on OpenTable for a table at the window. Was greeted by a tall unhappy blonde lady who maybe said 4 words to us.
Our waitress was quick to bring water while I waited for my other half and was short and not so friendly at first she was better as the we ordered.
The oysters and the wine were probably the best part of the meal.
The calamari was over cooked, however the cauliflower hot wings were delicious.
The main dishes had no presentation at all plain Jane, my steak was under done at medium rare and our food was not hot.
My other half who likes his rare couldn’t even eat his as it was under cooked as well.
We eat out often in Victoria and do not mind paying the prices but this place left little to be desired.
Cool building ..

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank nicolee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamship_Grill, Owner at Steamship Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that you had a mediocre experience at The Steamship Nicole. We hope you will return to our restaurant so we can WOW you the next time. I will let Chef know that the steaks need better attention. We thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamship Grill & Bar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Steamship Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing