We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable room, kind and friendly hosts, and wonderful food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable room, kind and friendly hosts, and wonderful food.”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My elderly Mom and I spent 5 very pleasant nights at Albion Manor in Room 3 which is on the ground floor level. We chose the room because it was accessible for Mom who uses a walker and cannot handle stairs. We had to walk through the lovely garden to get to the room entrance; this was challenging for Mom because the paved path was narrow and the ramp to the door is a tad steep. However, we managed and the room was spacious with a well-appointed kitchenette, a comfortable king bed and an eating area looking out at gorgeous flowers. At our request, Don (one of the hosts) willingly went out in search of a grab bar to install in the shower/tub so that my Mom had more security and safety while bathing. In addition, our breakfasts were delivered to our room each morning by Fernando (our other host) because of Mom's inability to cope with the stairs to the main dining room. We looked forward to the delicious breakfast served on bone china every morning. The location is excellent - an easy walk to the Inner Harbour and close to several excellent restaurants. I highly recommend the Albion Manor - one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffTrackCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    28
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
82
348
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We were traveling throughout Vancouver Island and stumbled across Albion Manor after a change in plans. I was quite surprised to end up at such a fabulous B&B! The house itself is a piece of art...the gardens were wonderful and the room was spacious, clean, and elegant. The bed was a dream to sleep on!! I don't think I will have a better breakfast until I come back!! The attention to detail was evident in everything...the food, artwork, library...a one of a kind experience! Oh, and the location...we didn't have to move our car until leaving Victoria!! Walking distance to downtown, harbour, Fisherman's Warf!! Definitely can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We've just returned from our second stay at Albion Manor, and on both occasions our experiences were absolutely stellar.

Albion Manor is much more than just a B&B; the service and level of comfort offered is more akin to a country inn. The house is a fantastic heritage building with all of the modern amenities, done up in high Victorian style, including antiques and art in all of the rooms - but done with real vibrancy and life. The rooms are elegantly comfortable, kitted out with fine linens, large beds, luxurious fabrics and all of the little necessities like alarm clocks and hair dryers. The breakfasts are large and absolutely fantastic. The hosts are hospitable, friendly and extremely helpful. The location is excellent: only five blocks from the Empress Hotel and two from the Clipper and Coho ferries to Washington State, and yet we heard no noise at night. The house just drips with art - the website doesn't do it justice - and the garden is lovely. There is ample parking on the property and on-street in front.

We have stayed at several other B&B's in Victoria (including the Trip Advisor #1-rated at time of writing) and Albion Manor surpasses them all for quality of accommodation, location, friendliness and over-all value. We are looking forward to returning for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cow_owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed two nights at the manor and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Fernando and Don are both top notch hosts and the breakfasts were out of this world!
We stayed in the former master bedroom which had a comfy king size bed and jaccuzi tub. The house is filled with antiques and great artwork done by a very talented Spanish artist. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franknshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The house was inviting when you drove in and the hosts were even more so. Fernando's art detail on the house and Don's persistant upkeep was quite apparent. Don's gourmet breakfasts were something to dream of.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scullyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We arrived at Albion Manor fresh from a 16 hour flight from Australia, and thought we were hallucinating when we arrived. The outside of the manor is brightly painted and all of the flowers in the lush garden were in full bloom, their perfume filling our room.

Straight to bed for an afternoon siesta on the giant mahogany king sized bed with the most comfortable mattress and pillows imaginable. The room was delightful, filled with beautiful furniture and works of art, some made by the Fernando himself.

Both Don and Fernando were extremely friendly, and always available to give us ideas on places to go and things to see. The decor is wonderfully extravagant (particularly within the foyer and reception room) yet very tasteful.

Don's breakfasts are a gourmet delight - no bacon and eggs here! Something different every day, all freshly prepared.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This is another place that we liked well enough to stay in twice....once on our arrival to Vancouver Island, and another time 4 days later when we left the island.

The manor is Victorian with various art works...paintings, ceramics, sculptures throughout the rooms and open areas. Every room that we looked into (when the doors were open, signifying that the room was unoccupied) was different. Some had private entrances, and there were different floorplans. All rooms seemed to be spacious and comfortable. Our room had a large flat screen TV and a comfortable sitting area. The room had traditional heating, and also had a heated floor available. It wasn't cold enough to heat the floor, but we did use the heated floor as a treat in the bathroom.

The hosts are quite outgoing and helpful, and make you feel very comfortable. Breakfast is a big event, served in a formal dining room, and the food is excellent.

The Albion is in a quiet residential neighborhood, about 4 short blocks from the ferry terminal. It is not far to walk around the harbor, to the Empress Hotel and other downtown attractions. With the spaciousness of the rooms, the food, hospitality, and location, the Albion is a great value.

On our next trip to Victoria, I can't imagine that we would stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 224 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Manor is Victoria’s Victorian Jewel. We want your stay at Albion to be the crowning touch to your visit to Victoria. Ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Seattle and Port Angeles Ferries, the ocean, downtown and major attractions, Albion manor is situated in a beautiful, private garden, featuring spectacular architectural details. Enjoy the comforts of jacuzzis, private entrances, balconies and patios all in a superb heritage building eclectically decorated with art and antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing