We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceeded our expectations !!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at Albion Manor for our honeymoon and it was wonderful. The breakfasts were world class as was the service . Our room had a direct deck to the garden and we enjoyed own private entrance. Don helped us with tips on what to see and do in the city and helped book several outings for us. Our room was nicely decorated with art and decor.
Thanks you guys for a special stay !!!

  • Liked — like you were traveling back in time... the atmosphere was so victorian
  • Disliked — We like limiting carbs in our diet so a 'carbless
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    29
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
347
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Stayed here last May for Memorial Day weekend. The B&B is very nice and decorated tastefully with many interesting items. Stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites which had it's own entrance to come and go as you please. The breakfast is prepared and served by the owner's and is very good. It was great to sit around the table with so many other people from different parts of the world and learn about what is going on in their home country. I think eating at a B&B offers that ambiance which you will not get at another place. After a great breakfast it's only a short walk to downtown and most points of interest. In my opinion staying here was the best value in the city and the owners are also two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Liked — The food and the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SWNR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jazzguy98
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I HIGHLY recommend the Albion Manor. My wife and I were there on our honeymoon and we loved it! Don and Fernando were wonderful hosts and we (ok, really I) couldn't help but think about the next day's breakfast right after eating breakfast because it was so delicious! The location is excellent, just a short walk to the Inner Harbour. We stayed in room 4 and it was wonderfully decorated and very enjoyable. Don and Fernando never hesitated to ensure that everything on our trip was absolutely perfect. Getting to enjoy F's artwork was an added bonus to our stay. We will be back here next time we are in Victoria.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jazzguy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed in Room 6 and our son and daughter-in-law stayed in Room 7 for a three night stay beginning August 31st. We arrived to Victoria via the Clipper from Seattle and we all laughed when we jumped in a cab from dock and drove all of two blocks to our wonderful B&B. The rooms weren't quite ready, but Don already made us feel at home by taking our luggage and we explored a bit of the town before coming back to luxuriate in our rooms. Although both rooms were very quiet and private, we enjoyed a shared balcony which was sunny in the afternoon. We are from Oklahoma and left 100 degree weather, so the coolness of the Victoria breeze while sitting in the sun on the balcony was very relaxing to the senses. The balcony was surrounded by plum trees and (nectarine?) trees that were heavy with ripe fruit. We took full advantage of our private balcony as well as the wrap around porch on the front and not a few hours were just spent reading in the B.C. sun, cooled by the breeze, surrounded by many flowering and fruited plants and trees. Although we have seagulls in Oklahoma, they do not match the vocal quality of the seagulls in Victoria. Their cries actually added to the ambience that lulled us into a total state of relaxation. When the sun went down, we would move into the parlor which has an incredible assortment of art, a lot of it original work by Fernando. Nighttime would find us in a very comfortable bed, cosy even with the windows open. Each morning I would step out to the parlor to find a very nice and strong coffee awaiting. I am sure that Don and Fernando were glad to see us go, so they didn't have to keep making us that wonderful coffee. (Actually, they didn't mind a bit!) We ate breakfast at 9:00 each morning with a very nice newlywed couple from Maryland. The breakfast was given high ratings by all in our party, but just to give a heads up to those southern Americans who like fried eggs, bacon, pancakes and grits for breakfast, better open up your palates to a higher calling.
We reluctanly departed the Albion Manor to return to our everyday lives here, but leaving we were much enriched by our hosts and their beautiful B&B. If I close my eyes, I can still feel the warm sun and the cool breeze, smell the flowers and breakfast cooking in the mornings, and if I listen very closley, I can hear the seagulls calling me to come back.

  • Liked — The gracious hosts, the relaxing environment
  • Disliked — It was all as good as advertised!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPatrick91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

The Albion Manor bed and breakfast is situated conveniantly not a long walking distance from the harbour and central parts of Victora but still in a green quiet calm area with Victorian houses.
Its a lovely old house. We stayed in room nr 7. It was beautifully decorated with lots of old furniture. There is a large bathroom with windows, large bathtub and a separate shower.
You share the balcony with the guests in the neighbouring rooms. From the balcony there is a lovely view over the green garden and the gardens of the other houses around.
There is complimentary wireless internet in the room.
The breakfast i served in the old style dining room together with the other guests. It was interesting to talk to people from different parts of the world during your morning coffee.
The breakfast was a three course breakfast everything served with style and in highest quality.We specially liked the egg dishes.
The hosts are very friendly and charming. We would recommend this place for everyone who wants to have a tranquil stay in a lovely old house in Victoria.

  • Liked — The fantastic breakfast.
  • Disliked — Easy to hear noise from the hall and neighbouring rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Don and Fernando were gracious and accommodating hosts. The breakfast was divine, and the rooms were comfortable and quiet. It's a nice walk between the inn and downtown Victoria.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourg la reine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I had reserved for 6 months a room with kitchen for more privacy We were very disappointed to see that we had a very little room without kitchen and no possibilities to change.
I was waiting for a commercial reduction in the end. But in fact, they tried to make us pay the same price as the big room and we had to ask for a reduction.
It was not correct at all !!! A very unpleasant experience !!!
As for the ceremonial breakfast, we didn't like at all !!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank domiBourgLaReine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndon, owner at Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2008
We work really hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience when they stay with us. We love our work and love to meet the guests who come to stay with us. We are not mean, vindictive, calculating people. It wouldn’t make sense, mentally, financially, emotionally, to consciously try to give our guests a bad experience. Sometimes though, even with the best intentions, things don’t work out as you had planned. Even so, this review is remarkably unfair. When these guests (three of them) booked, they never at any time mentioned that they wanted a kitchenette. A kitchenette was never discussed. In fact, extremely rare are the guests who visit us, especially from Europe, who come all this way so they can cook for themselves. These guests reserved a room that had a queen bed and a single roll-away. When we had a cancellation in a larger room that had a queen bed and a double hide-a-bed, we thought we would be doing them a favour by moving them to the larger room with better beds. When they arrived and expressed their disappointment at not having a kitchen, though taken aback, we apologized profusely and explained why we had moved them. (We couldn’t move them back because the other room was subsequently rented to other guests.) They were very gracious about it and said they understood and that it was not a problem. They then spent 2 days enjoying the house and the garden and eating every bite of the breakfast. Then this review… some things you just can’t understand. It sure takes the wind out of your sails I can tell you. But we will continue to strive to give all of our guests the best bed and breakfast experience possible. In 99.9% of the cases, we succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,740 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 224 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Manor is Victoria’s Victorian Jewel. We want your stay at Albion to be the crowning touch to your visit to Victoria. Ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Seattle and Port Angeles Ferries, the ocean, downtown and major attractions, Albion manor is situated in a beautiful, private garden, featuring spectacular architectural details. Enjoy the comforts of jacuzzis, private entrances, balconies and patios all in a superb heritage building eclectically decorated with art and antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing