We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Saaz Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Saaz Restaurant and Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A friend had been here and recommended it so we tried the lunch buffet. It was excellent, each dish with distinct flavours. As a vegetarian I found there were enough choices to keep me happy: a dahl, a veggie curry, potato and pea curry, veggie pakoras, salad and naan. The meat eaters enjoyed the goat curry and fish pakoras. All in all a great little find with delicious food, an inviting space with friendly service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saaz R, Owner at Saaz Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    59
    10
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Saaz is a welcome addition to Victoria”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Saaz last night. I am very pick about Indian food, and usually don't like Indian restaurants. But the food was very good. We pakoras for appetizers and dosa. We are already planning a visit to try some of the great entrees. Gurpreet the owner was charming and hospitable. If you like (or even if you haven't tried) Indian food, this place is a must.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mungli834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saaz R, Owner at Saaz Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A+ Wonderful food, classy decor and the best staff!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I met some friends at Saaz for dinner where we lounged for hours eating and drinking. The lamb masala, the skewered chicken appetizers and the butter chicken were delicious! We were so taken with the sound-tracks that we even attempted some bhangra dancing! Thank you for a wonderfully pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TashaBanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saaz R, Owner at Saaz Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review Natasha. We are glad that we were able to make your dining experience enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Tucked away on lower Yates Street, this new restaurant has the best Indian lunch buffet. Gurpreet, who recently spent time working in top restaurants in Vancouver, has created a really cool atmosphere that is all about quality. You can see that a great deal of care and thought has been put into this great spread. The price, food, atmosphere and service was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetSBains, Owner at Saaz Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you George for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Moving from Vancouver two years ago, I didn't think I would be able to find a Indian restaurant that would meet my high expectations. That was until I visited Saaz for the first time last week. I went and checked it out with two friends and all four dishes that we had were amazing. I highly recommend the butter chicken and the short rib. Huge thanks to Gurp and his staff, we will definitely be back again!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Indy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetSBains, Owner at Saaz Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you Indy for your awesome review. Hope to see you in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saaz Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing