We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Saigon Night

Saigon Night
Ranked #173 of 1,204 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently tried Saigon Night after a few years of disappointing Vietnamese, we can finally stop looking because this is the place to go. The grilled pork with shredded pork over rice with a fried roll is my favourite! You get so much food for the price. Also the salad rolls with shrimp are to die for! The people who run it are also very pleasant and always so helpful. One of my favourite places to eat downtown by far!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelisaH667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

while on a walk to the Castle from the harbor, we stumbled into this place. and were we glad we did. this has to be one of the best vietnamese restaurants i have ever been to. our friends had just returned from a trip to China and VietNam - declaring it four thumbs up. the pho was excellent. the noodles yummy. one of our party asked for lots of heat - and she got exactly what she asked for. you must go here. period. and the owner is delightful (she never heard of trip advisor - go figure)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and tasty!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Really enjoyed the food and experience. My party of 5 let Thuy, the owner, choose all our food and she did a great job! Banana deserts were excellent too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 528646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the owner ❤”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

3 people happy and full. Came when the restaurant was empty and it soon it filled right up, service was still quick and the staff was great Try the green papaya salad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamLooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Food, Family Owned”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This restaurant received rave reviews in the paper when it was located by the Odeon Theatre, and it got so popular that the owner jacked up the rent and the restaurant closed. It popped up again several years ago on Fort Street just past Quadra, and it is just as good -- plus you can park for free on the block behind the restaurant.

The service is excellent, and if you go regularly you will get to know the owner Twee, who is darling, and her family members. Whenever I go there, she asks about my parents, who are regulars, and my sister, who goes there every time she comes back to Victoria. That's the kind of place this is.

I have never had anything here that wasn't really good, but I would especially recommend:
- Pork and Shrimp Salad Rolls with spicy peanut dipping sauce
- Papaya Salad with pork and shrip (note: the papaya is shredded and not sweet)
- Tofu in Ginger Sauce
- Bahn Tom (sp?) - udon noodles in creamy coconut sauce, with grilled pork and shrimp.

The prices are very reasonable. The decor is a little bit industrial, but it's still got good ambiance. I highly recommend you try it out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick-in-Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Night also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Saigon Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing