We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.75*
and up
Victoria Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$179.01*
and up
2-Hour Luxury City Tour of Victoria
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mom and I enjoyed the high tea offered by reservation at the Fairmont Empress Hotel. The waiter was excellent and the tea was quite good; the tea cakes and sandwiches were sufficient. The real reason we went was the atmosphere, and we were not disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    587
    226
    65
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tea party”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had booked a "high tea" at the Empress with a tour of the city. Since the cruise ship didn't dock until 6 pm, we didn't have our tea until 8 pm. The timing was wrong, wish we could have had it earlier. The tea itself was tasty and the food was very good. Walked around the hotel a little, but couldn't see much other than the lobby. Great for a one time thing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY EXPENSIVE”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband decided to take our family to the Empress for tea for my Birthday. We had a wonderful time with the evnironment and experience. BUT when we got the BILL it ruined the entire day. Be prepared to spend over $250.00 for a family of four for MINI bites of sandwhiches and scones. Tea, I could have mistaken for Lipton... Very disappointing considering the ambiance the hotel presents. Take a walk around the grounds and save your money for shopping, and attractions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahat, bc
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Fairmont is beautiful to walk through. If you have time stop in for high tea. It's the number one thing on my list to do with my family when they come to visit. It's an experience that you won't forget.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank trek2fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We just Came for High-Tea!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had High Tea here, we did not stay at the Hotel. High Tea is $$$ however I think every one should at least have the experience once. We had our choice of tea, then little sandwiches, scones and pastry. Loved It!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eizemti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing