We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh...”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmore, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ahhh...”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Helms Inn does what many hotels and Inns fail to do. The management maintains an older building in perfectly fine shape and they manage to keep it up and keep it updated quite nicely. It is a busy inn, and it is very conveniently located. It is NOT new, but, as I said, it is quite nice. It is a sort walk to everything in downtown Victoria, and a reasonable walk to the Fisherman's Wharf area. We love this place and we will be back soon. One small complaint... it would be great to see fresh baked cookies served during tea time instead of the ones from a tin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jharleyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    205
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
131
253
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We were hesitant to book this hotel simply because of exterior pictures. However, after a recommendation from family, we gave it a try. It was wonderful. We had a king bed in the Thunderbird building. The suite had a kitchen, sitting area, and if you need it a Murphy bed in the closet. The only down side was no elevator, but not a problem. The room was extremely clean and the hotel staff super friendly. We were in easy distance to all the locations we needed such as Wharf Street, Fort Street, and Government Street. Be sure to stay here, rates are very affordable!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly situated for Beacon Hill Park and the Inner Harbor. We walked to both everyday. Our room was clean but felt small for a family of five. The front desk was cordial and helpful. It was fine for what we needed for our short stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank keepongoing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerlijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Helm's Inn for two nights and enjoyed our stay a lot, as well as the beautiful city of Victoria. We stayed in a spacious room, with living room and kitchenette. Everything is present to make your stay comfortable. Thanks to the great location, you can reach city centre after a lovely walk of 5 minutes. If you have kids: go to the children's farm in the park nearby the hotel. Our 1.5 year old son had the time of his life!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Broes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not the prettiest hotel to look at by a long way but absolutely nothing wrong with anything once you get inside. Parking was a bit tight but OK.
We stayed in the main building so can't comment on the other buildings but the reception was nice with free coffee and fruit on the go all day. I don't know if there was a lift but we didn't see one so had to get cases up & down stairs. Usual amenities in the spacious room and a kitchen to boot.
Great location being just a very short walk from the Parliament buildings, harbours and town centre. I can't think of anything that we weren't happy about so yes, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked at this spot based on Trip Advisor rave reviews. Our expererience is the complete opposite. This is a dreary spot, very tired, housekeeping is poor. Today, our wet towels on the floor were left on the floor and no new towels were provised. We washed our own dishes and kept the room tidy so it wouldn't have been hard to do the bare minimum, which was not done. After 3 nights, the bed sheets were not changed and the bed was barely made up. I would NOT recommend this hotel. The location is good, but there are a lot of other places close by, so there is nothing unique or compelling about this sad hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Helm's Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello! As the Manager of the Helm's Inn I would like to offer my deepest apologies about your poor stay. The difficulties you addressed in concerns with our housekeeping are certainly not the standard we strive to maintain. As you can see from previous reviews, these are not normal issues and we make every effort to make every guests stay special. I have already discussed the problems you had with all of the housekeeping staff to be certain such neglect does not happen again. If you could please contact me at the hotel I would be very grateful to discuss your stay in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We weren't expecting much because of the reviews we read. Were we pleasantly surprised! We had a nice bedroom, a kitchen that was fully equipped and a nice little den/dining area. I will definitely stay here again. The location is right behind the BC Museum and the Parliament building and only a couple of blocks from the main waterfront. Beacon Hill Park is right across the street. Fabulous location! There is a nice little tea house/ restaurant right down the street. This is definitely a little known gem.

FYI, I have no affiliation with this hotel except that we loved staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#13 of 49 in Victoria
679 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing