We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at Helm's Inn for the first time this past week. What a delight! Besides being within walking distance of downtown, Beacon Hill Park, James Bay, the harbour, etc. it's a sweet little hotel made even sweeter by their pleasant courtyard, big windows and spacious rooms. It's not a five-star hotel with all the upscale amenities or flashy granite whatevers; instead, it's homey, pleasant, charming and warm, with great service, convenient parking for only $5/day, and afternoon tea and cookies, as well as umbrellas, books, puzzles, etc. stacked in the lobby for your enjoyment on rainy days.

Room Tip: Room 215 is roomy with kitchenette and a little table right under the window so that you can watch p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bette108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the past 20 years and it is a gem. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. For people on a budget or with food allergies, book a room with a FULL kitchen. Very comfortable and "homey". You can walk to most of the major attractions, downtown and Chinatown just to name a few of my favourite places. AND the hotel is located directly across the street from Beacon Hill Park, the nicest park in Victoria. Bring your bicycle, roller blades or walking shoes and discover this fabulous city.

Room Tip: Full kitchens in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for a last minute weekend get away in Victoria. We knew the location would be right where we wanted it to be, ut we did not realize just how convenient it would be to all the things we had planned for the weekend. This hotel borders Beacon Hill Park, it is literally across the street. the Parliament Building is less than 2 blocks away. This hotel shares a parking lot with the back of the Royal British Museum and the IMAX theater. The old Town is a 5 minutes walk.

Not only was the location perfect, the hotel itself was outstanding. Our king suite had marble everywhere, and hard wood floors in the sitting area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was one of the cleanest I have seen in a very long time. What a wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We love this hotel every time we stay. It's located right in the heart of the downtown Inner Harbour and right next to the Royal BC museum. Great for staying overnight and then going out to explore. Not the right type of hotel if you want lots of amenities but otherwise a wonderful place. The staff are friendly and helpful when you want to find things around town. The only bad thing I can say about them is that our rooms have sometimes had some little things wrong (curtains didn't work properly or light bulb was burnt out) but most things were fixed immediately.

Room Tip: They have a room which has an extra separate room attached which doesn't cost much extra. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizardraghnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for a short mini-vacation in November. I was a little dubious, based on the (low) price they quoted me, but risked it. So glad I did - the location can't be beat. It is a few steps from the Royal BC Museum and Parliament Building, across the street (with walk lights) from Beacon Hill Park, and a short walk to Inner Harbor, etc. The room was nicely updated and had a full kitchen. Everything was very clean. Each room in the one bedroom suite was a little small, but considering what I paid, I felt like it was generous. The staff was exceptionally nice, especially Alicia at the front desk. The other guests tended to be mainly repeat customers, some of whom stay the winter at Helm's Inn. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

While working in Victoria I stayed at the Inn many times. Spacious rooms all with kitchen facilities. King sized comfortable beds. Right next to Beacon Hill Park and an easy walk to downtown and to the ocean.
Very nice and helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to minimize road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting Victoria and wish I had more time to spend here! The room was exceptionally clean and very up to date.

Location is also excellent. Only problem was that the toilet wouldn't flush when we first checked into the room, but that wasn't a problem as I had my handy man with me :)

Not sure if there was breakfast available on the premises but we were directed to a place down the road from the Helms that apparently serve cheap breakfast. We just did our own thing though!

If I was to return to Victoria again, I would definatly stay here again. Nice to have your own private space!

One small tip for the Helms though is to put a mirror in the bedroom.. Always a plus when you have women staying here ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 which was on the groud floor and facing the carpark so nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing