We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our Victoria home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Victoria home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed with my husband on at least three previous visits in the past 10 years. This time, an old friend and I came up for the weekend to see the Butchart Garden. I was last here in November 2010 when they were in the process of remodeling all of the rooms.
I had no complaints about the rooms before the remodel. I like what they did to update the rooms. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We had a first floor room with two queen rooms and a kitchenette. It was spacious and a good value in comparison with recent hotel stays in the states. The location is excellent and very close to everything.
The only thing I would fault them on is the limited cable tv channel selection. I would also recommend bringing back the basket of fruit they used to provide on the first day of your stay.

Helm's Inn will continue to be our place to stay when we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhensrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    176
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
111
223
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay twice at this hotel over the past 2 weeks. The first for 3 nights over the long weekend in September and again on our return trip to Victoria. On both occasions we were pleased with the central location, with attractions, restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance. The property is across the street from the entrance to Beacon Hill Park, which provides lovely walking trails and access to some additional beautiful vistas. The king suites were well-appointed with separate bedrooms and full kitchen facilities. There is a laundry on-site and wireless internet throughout. Parking is an additional nominal charge. We stayed in the Mount Royale building and both rooms appeared to have been recently renovated. We would highly recommend the Helm's Inn and will absolutely stay there on our next holiday to Victoria!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor and a suite if possible. We didn't see the other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joycesault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Helm's Inn twice on our recent trip to British Columbia, and if we're ever back in Victoria we will probably stay there again. The location is great - just a ten minute walk from the Harbor, but far enough away to be quiet. Both times we had booked a king room, but the two rooms we stayed in were very different. The first room seemed more like a suite, so maybe we got upgraded. There was a small, well-stocked kitchen and a living area with a couch and a television in one room, and a king bed and TV in the other. The bathroom was very small. The second time we were in a room with a small kitchenette right inside the door and a king bed. The bathroom for this room was a bit larger than the other. This room was great for two people, but would have been too small to have a roll-away. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable, and I would highly recommend the Helm's Inn. If you are looking for a quick take-out dinner, La Petite Dakar is just a couple of blocks away and serves tasty, inexpensive Senegalese food. We brought dinner back to our room twice, and wish we could go again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were at the Helm's Inn for 4 nights, located directly across from beautiful Beacon Hill Park, excellent walking distance to the Provincial Legislature Building, the inner harbour, and of course downtown shopping and restaurants.

Self-serve coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7, friendly efficient staff, clean well-maintained rooms, and nearby groceries available at the superb Thrifty's on Menzies St. You can stock your room fridge with an endless fresh supply of fruit, meat, and for your purchases as well of fresh bread, dairy products and all other necessities.

This was our first time at the Helm's Inn. We are definitely returning to this gem of a place upon our next return to Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived and my husband was not feeling well at all a sore hip .as it goes the front manager gave us a ground floor unit ,which was great lots of space ,two beds two closets cooking facility's ,great location to Innes marina and right next door to the BC museum,&i IMAX very nice hotel and great service from staff thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnymustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Older hotel with well appointed room with small kitchen area. Walking distance from downtown, Inner Harbour and BC Museum. Right on Transcanada highway. Three floors but no elevator, if that is an issue.

Room Tip: Third floor facing inner courtyard away from main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a charming little hotel in a perfect location. The manager was on duty and was very friendly and helpful. Our room - a king suite - was well set up, clean, with a comfortable bed with nice linens. It is within walking distance to everything. We were delighted with this find and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Did not see any of the other rooms but were happy with ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddingButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#7 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing