We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Helm's Inn is clean, quiet, well located, and priced right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Helm's Inn to your Saves list
Helm's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Olympa, WA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Helm's Inn is clean, quiet, well located, and priced right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have visited Victoria twice in five years (2008 & 2013) and stayed at Helm's Inn both times. We enjoyed both stays. It is clean. It is quiet. It is at most a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The price is excellent for the large rooms and suites. Just right for a family of three and would serve a family of four as well.

Helm's Inn is directly across the street from Beacon Hill Park - Victoria's answer to Central Park. A very pleasant park in which to stroll.

It is an easy walk into town (no reason to take a car on the ferry unless you plan to go well beyond Victoria) and Victoria is clean and pleasant day and night.

The staff at Helm's Inn are knowledgeable about restaurants and activities in the city. No reason to stay anywhere else unless you want a view of the harbor, in which case there are many other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    173
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
222
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

5 of us stayed in a one bedroom apartment with 2 queen beds and a crib. It had a kitchen which was functional. The room had its own little entrance and has been renovated. The room was a little dark but we just turned the lights on which was fine. There was quite a bit of storage room for suitcases and to hang clothes.
The location was fantastic, close to the harbour and a short walk to beacon hill park where the kids could have a good run around. For the price it was great, but it isn't a 5 star hotel if that is what you are after.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you need one ask for bottom level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff was so obliging. They had made an error and booked me a single bed when I needed twins but they quickly rectified the situation.
Any taxis needed, they got immediatel.
The property is so well located- steps from the Royal BC Museum, Empress Hotel, and the waterfront.
Clean well made rooms, with a kitchen!!!
Greta value- would definitely reccomend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When my husband and I come to Victoria, this is where we stay. It's the best kept secret in the city. The hotel was recently renovated, so it's much less shabby chic than it used to be. You can get a suite with a kitchenette for an incredibly reasonable price. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean and well kept. There is a lounge downstairs where you can get free coffee and tea, read the papers they provide, or do a jigsaw puzzle. The staff is friendly and attentive and are great resources for things to do and places to go. It's also very close to the harbour front, the Fairmont, the parliament buildings, the museum, and downtown - all the main attractions in Victoria. I highly recommend this place although I am reluctant to share it because I would hate to see it get so booked up that we can't get a room next time we come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikaelaMalimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I guess I didn't really know what to expect. I had lived in Victoria for a bit and had often passed by this hotel on the bus and it never really looked too appealing on the outside. But I was returning to Victoria for the marathon and wanted a place to stay that was close to the start line. Most of the hotels in that area are very expensive as it's close to the harbour and downtown. The Helm's Inn was reasonably priced and so i booked it on their website.

The room was very large and comfortably furnished. It looked as though the bathroom and flooring had been recently renovated. It was all very clean and my room even included a kitchen with stove and fridge and dishes. The king sized bed was very comfortable and I had a great sleep before my run. I had asked for a quiet room not facing Superior street and it appears as though they accommodated my request as I faced the rear of the building.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again for the marathon. The location can't be beat (right beside the Royal BC museum).

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inner courtyard rather than Douglas or Superior streets. It will be muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topaz_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
154 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here one night, which was for us enough in Victoria, which is nice city but can't be compared to for example Vancouver.
Hotel is one of the cheapest (for what you get for sure) in Victoria, but still the quality is very good, compared to a chain motel/hotel.
We had a big room with a king and kitchen area (and a quite big bath room) with view on the entrance of beacon hill park. It was clean and we had everything we needed.
Our room was in the main building.
As stated by other reviewers, location is excellent! it's a very short walk to the inner harbour, you just need to pass by the totem poles of the BC museum and you are already there, perfect!
there are plenty of eating options in Victoria.
There are no additional facitlities like a swimming pool or so, but you can use the computer there to access internet. And there is parking (if I remember correctly, this was for a small additional charge)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was back in Victoria for business and stayed at the Helms Inn again. They continue to update the room, this time I stayed in the main building so had a queen with a small kitchen on the third floor. Was nice, modern and charater/homey feeling. Very Clean. They have a very unique electronic lock system I have never seen before, like it, always works unlike the problems you have with cards. The only downside to this hotel is they don't have central air conditioning, however in Victoria's coastal climate (they are one block from the inner harbour and about 6 blocks from the straight of juan de fuca) you rarely need it. This time my room faced on the street and I could hear the buses go by. The hotel is a walk up to 3rd floor so if that is problematic make sure you book on main floor. Great location, parking is free. I will be back.

Room Tip: talk to them when you book they are very open, knowegeable and helpful. great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riverboat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#7 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing