We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very well situated hotel in victoria BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very well situated hotel in victoria BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Victoria close to the Harbour, this is quite reasonable and very convenient. It is two blocks easy walk from the empress hotel and close to everything in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwrbMarkham_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in June 2012. The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful, the rooms clean, comfortable and well appointed. Litteraly just around the corner from the harbour front, shops restaurants etc, it is perfectly located for a stay in Victoria. Once you have checked out of your room, there is a secure cupboard in the reception area where you can have your luggage stored, free of charge, whilst you do any last minute sightseeing, shopping etc. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prf-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony, France
Level Contributor
346 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel very well located close to the harbor, restaurants and so on.
Rooms are really cosy, well equipped, clean, etc... We had a kind of appartment and it was really perfect to spend a few nights and not being obliged to go to the restaurant every evening.

I could have rated this hotel with a 5 if we would not have been really disturbed by a lot of noise coming from the upstairs room all over the night. The staff tried to do something but didn't succeed...

At the end, I will probably go back to this hotel anyhow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Last year I stayed at this small hotel complex, in the Thunderbird building, this year in the Mount Royale building. Their lengthy room renovations seem nearly complete. They have done a nice job, unifying the rooms with nice modern decor. I think all have a kitchen or kitchenette, since two of the three buildings were originally small apartment buildings. I quite like the place, but there a couple of negatives. The parking is cramped and not really adequate, and noise can be a problem in some rooms. Douglas and Superior is a fairly busy intersection, but the traffic does quiet down in the evening. This year I was in the Mt. Royale so didn't have that problem. However, I was bothered by guest noise (until after midnight) on one of my five nights. The room doors are rather flimsy and loud noise can easily travel out one door and into yours. That said, the location is handy and the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is just about perfect in every way. Great rooms, staff, location, ambiance and yes price. Ok, the place does not have a pool or a restaurant, but it is in downtown Victoria. I can't see wishing to have either one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnverburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Helms Inn was a superb choice for our several days visit to Victoria. It is not fancy, but it is very pleasant and had a great deal of space for the price. I appreciated having a kitchen, complete with kitchen table and chairs, a sitting area with a sofa and TV, and a separate bedroom. Our room even had a little balcony, although not much of a view.

Before our trip, I had combed the accommodation for Victoria both on Trip Advisor and other websites for the best place to stay. I looked at bed-and-breakfast and vacation rental apartments as well. My sister lives close to Victoria and had told me the Helms Inn was the best choice and the best deal for the money, and after all my research I concluded that she was right. Of course, if I'd been willing to spend a lot more money, we could have stayed a place with more charm, but the Helms Inn was pleasant and comfortable and the price was great.

Once we were in Victoria, I especially appreciated the Helms Inn’s remarkable location with the waterfront a five-minute walk away, the museum a three-minute walk away, and the beautiful big park kitty corner across the street.

Room Tip: I liked having a balcony, and only some rooms in the middle building do, so if you would like this f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol from Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

a great little hotel. We ordered the cheapest option, and got a large, clean and generally well maintained room (enormous bed), with excellent amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful, there was air conditioning and free wifi, cooking and dining facilities - all for ~110 Canadian $.
The hotel is 3 minutes away from the Royal BC Museum, and 5 from the inner harbor - so great location as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing