We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor compared to other super 8's I've visited”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor compared to other super 8's I've visited”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We got a cheap rate for this hotel on line. We didn't expect anything fancy, but the hotel was dreary and dingy. Staff rarely made eye contact and seemed to be struggling with the front desk system. (Not friendly except for one man at the front desk at night, who was cheerful and helpful.) Terrible maid service - didn't empty garbage, didn't take away dirty towels, didn't replenish shampoo - no improvement even when we told them and they promised better. Bare minimum continental breakfast. Restaurants closed though signs still up. Weeds growing along side entrance. This place has seen better days.

Room Tip: Only good thing was cheap price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at the Super 8 Victoria did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest’s comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guests' experiences.
We thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us again in the future if you would let us know when you are traveling to Victoria, BC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    117
    63
    58
See reviews for
118
103
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

the building is very old ,elevater when trying to put baggage cart in the elevater it was to small to hold the small cart and 1 person. the room was low budget as well as my wife could not sleep from the constant creeking of the ceiling all through the night as someone up stairs was paceing all night long . in the mourning she was claiming that she also could not stop itching all night long , I remember doing the same in the night . will never return to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria. We will pass your review along to our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed a night (May 25), terrible night at room 217. The floors squick, our room and above us, its so annoying that there is no way you can sleep,the people above keep walking the whole night. If only we have warm jackets, we could have slept in our car.The street noise kept us awake also that it feels like the windows were open all the time.went down to the front desk at around 3am to ask for an ear plug but they dont have. Also we can hear the people talking in the next room even when they use the bathroom. The cold air from outside seeps thru the window AC. ZERO SLEEP. Room cleanliness is okay. There is no way that ill stay in this hotel again even if its free. NO THANKS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at the Super 8 Victoria did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guests’ comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guests' experiences.

We thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business and once again apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 2915 Douglas St | 2 Blocks East Of Hillside On Douglas, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M8, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Victoria BC)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Victoria Hotel Victoria
Super Eight Victoria
Victoria Super 8
Victoria Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing