We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place,”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed February 12, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just finished a 5 night stay at this hotel. Great value!! Got a fantastic rate by booking at the hotel web site. We were on the third floor at the back. It was quiet. Room was clean. Mattress was fine..my back did not bother me. Free WiFi. The microwave/fridge/kitchenette was very useful. The continental breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. . Juice, coffee, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, croissants, cinnamon buns..could not ask for more. Do not be afraid to share a table..meet interesting people this way. (If you want bacon eggs etc, the Spoons Diner attached to the hotel is also good...giant portions!)
Staff was very friendly. Lots of free parking. You are not paying for facilities you will not use (pool,gym etc).
Although we did not go to them, I did notice several restaurants close by (walking distance). The dinner we had at Spoons was excellent.

Room Tip: asked for room at the rear to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecowdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Hotel in Victoria, BC. We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria again soon and we hope you’ll stay with us at the Super 8 Hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Super 8 with my four year old after his surgery and for us it was perfect, especially for the price. The lobby is large and modern, the rooms were tidy, and the staff was friendly. The hotel was within walking distance for great restaurants, the health food store, and the mall as well. We both enjoyed the free breakfast.

The carpets in the room could do with a steam clean but most hotel carpets could.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

The feedback from your stay is warmly received, I'm glad we could provide a comfortable stay for you and your son. Hopefully we will see you again in future under non-medical circumstances.

Our hotel is a short drive to either of Victoria's main hospitals, medical stays are important to us, it can be difficult to be comfortable while you're away from home.

We are now heading into the winter season, I'll be sure to look into our carpet situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It was on mark with a budget hotel (I hate it when people are too cheap to fork out for a nice 3-5 star and then judge the place that they are staying against one - it doesn't make sense). It was clean, it was comfortable, it was adequate. Two double beds, desk, media cabinet, open closet and a washroom. Loved the A/C! But hated listening to the traffic all night, the sound carried over and above the hum of the A/C. (And don't think about turning it off, it creates a nice buffer between you and the traffic outside). Also the A/C keeps the air nice and fresh - a must with older hotels! No mini fridge in the unit (first time staying anywhere that didn't have a fridge!). The free breakfast was ample, a great assortment of fresh pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee etc. Very nice, thank you! Overall a good stay, couldn't hear the other units, but definitely choose a room further away from the traffic to get some sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road for a good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lighthouse-Lane-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, perhaps next time you're in Victoria please contact us at reservations@super8victoria.com and we'll do the best we can to show you our best side.

We do have a lot to offer for a small property, our service means everything to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is ok but in an industrial style area at least a 20 minute walk from town. Free breakfast is ok - not great. Great selection of beer in the attached store. For the price this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astronut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to reflect on areas in which the property could improve. I do believe we offer a good business for our value. I'll be talking with the staff about how we can improve our service and workshop a few new breakfast ideas.

Hope to see you next time you make it to beautiful Victoria BC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a kitchenette room which was completely stocked with tableware, etc. Very nice, clean, spacious room. Only real complaint would be the very limited seating area in the breakfast area and the fact that the elevator floor was very dirty and remained that way for the two days I stayed there. Very good value.

Room Tip: The backside rooms offer little in the way of a view but are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Your feedback is not only helpful to us, but to our future guests as well. If guests are unaccustomed to living in the city, the road noise can be troublesome for many in town properties. We do make our best attempt to fulfill guest requests for the quiet side of the building.

I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,146 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 2915 Douglas St | 2 Blocks East Of Hillside On Douglas, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M8, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Victoria BC)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Victoria Hotel Victoria
Super Eight Victoria
Victoria Super 8
Victoria Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing