We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good the first time, denied the next”
Review of Chongo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Chongo's Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good the first time, denied the next”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We'd been wanting to try this place, so stumbled in one weekend and weren't disappointed by our food. Simple and delicious breakfast, but no where near "healthy" - oh my butter meet salt! When we tried to go back for a second assessment, we learned they no longer did breakfast. I understand, but still disappointing. They are veggie accommodating, but not veggie adventurous. Definitely for the meat-minded.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tough location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My fear for this good restaurant is that the location will not be of great help to its survival in a tough business. Located off the beaten path in a converted home it is going to be the quality of their food that will keep them going - and good food it is. Not a great deal of warmth in the decor and the service was a bit spotty but the overall verdict on the food was excellent. Salmon risotto could do with a bit more salmon and fewer mussels but the wiener schnitzel was excellent as were our appetizers. Well deserving of the good reviews it has been getting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theedge139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Decor needs refreshing”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food was very nice except that the salmon on the Risotto was badly over-cooked. The chefs must remember that fish always continues cooking even after being taken off the heat. And, do make the walls of the dining rooms a lighter color!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have visited Chongo's twice and have not been disappointed. We had the mussels which were delicious and also the tuna salad is excellent. Both dishes are good to share and the portions are filling. Service was good although the atmosphere is a little ho hum. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chongo's is a converted heritage house. The outside is amazing but we found the décor a wee bit sterile and a bit too modern for the outside façade (but that could be a matter of personal taste and in no way affected the quality of the food!). The food was great. I wanted to substitute a sauce on the dish I had and the kitchen had no problem with that whatsoever. My husband ordered extra sauce for his schnitzel and there was a $1.00 charge (which I find tacky). The server was kind of ditzy. I actually heard her say to another table when giving details of the daily feature that it cost 27 bucks. A little coaching would be in order. The food was good and we would go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank christiehoward94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chongo's Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing