We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victoria Must!”
Review of Chongo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Chongo's Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kelowna, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Victoria Must!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My Mom and I had dinner at Chongo's the other night and it was absolutely delicious. My Mom had the lemon pepper halibut with horseradish mashed potatoes, asparagus and beats. She thought it one of the best halibut meals she has ever had. The presentation was also superb. I had curried vegetables with tofu which was also wonderful. This is a quaint little restaurant with a great chef and awesome service. Be sure to give it a try. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JVandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy !”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Loved this little place. I felt like a local here. The fireplace mae it cozy and it was good solid fare. My Prime burger was juicy and the specialty bun was excellent. We also ordered the local cheese board and the waitress was knowledgeable about everything on the plate. After a busy day sightseeing , this quite cozy nook was very welcome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT NIGHT OUT”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went to Chongo's on Saturday night to celebrate my birthday. The service was good and also the food. This is a little out of the main hub of downtown Victoria, but worth visiting. There were 11 of us in total and everyone's meal was really good and the building/restaurant has a nice enjoyable feel to it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We first visited Chongos on their initial opening and were disappointed in desserts which seemed to be day old baking. However, as we had friends staying at Laurel Point we gave them a second try tonite - an absolute dining pleasure. Salads fresh and crisp, seafood pasta absolutely perfect and the veal to die for with very generous portions. As they are within a short walking distance from our condo we will be visiting them again soon. Had fresh strawberries waiting at home so cannot vouch for the desserts!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasbark264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't get too excited. ”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We tried here for our first night out in Victoria- disappointing. Unfortunately, no part if the meal was memorable- just food.

Helpful?
Thank adconacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chongo's Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing