We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves a bigger crowd!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chongo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Chongo's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Deserves a bigger crowd!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we discovered this relatively new place right around the corner from our hotel, we thought we'd give it a try. While it had been crowded the night before (Labor Day) on a Tuesday night it was a bit lonely, but the service was attentive and the Pork Schnitzel was delicious. A charming choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We happened on this place on a stroll from our hotel. It had recently opened and looked unique in an old mansion. The food was superb! I have never had fatter, juicier mussels and they were cooked to perfection and served with a Thai green curry sauce. Steak was excellent. Limited wine list and a couple of local beers. Knowledgeable staff. Great find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,652 reviews
794 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Great "NEW" Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This establishment has just opened to the public and I would recommend that all tripadvisor readers give it a try! We stumbled across this great restaurant by chance and were not disappointed. I started with a very tasty Caesar salad and then had the fettuccine & prawn entrée,(which was excellent) & topped it off with a cheese cake for dessert. The chef has a unique style on his presentation of the meals & we were very pleased with the flavours, portions. The beer & wine list also complimented our meals, plus the staff & owner were very attentive. We enjoyed it so much we went for breakfast the next morning , which was also very tasty! This refurbished, nicely decorated house has some interesting atmosphere and the price point for the meals makes it a great choice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gambled and WON BIG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Chongos on our way back to our hotel after walking to the Fish Store, which is NOT a restaurant. Checked out the menu and decided to give it a try...so glad we did! Had a perfectly sumptuous meal of halibut with vegetables of the day & mashed potatoes, a meunière sauce on top...excellent! Definitely would go back. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. Price was well within range of what you would expect for such a meal. Desserts looked beautiful, tho we didn't indulge. Should be higher on the list of best places

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jfleming32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food,Great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ate at Chongos 3 times. Breakfast was amazing! Great eggs benny, the banana bread French toast with peanut butter was decadent. For dinner, the special was a coconut encrusted halibut with a pineapple Thai sauce. One of the best halibut dinners I have ever had!! It was perfectly prepared and priced!! They have only been open 3 weeks so they are still working out the kinks. The staff was very friendly and hard working. Had free "appys" at their first ever football happy hour upstairs, and the wings were great. Keep in mind they haven't even had a "grand opening" yet. I cannot wait to go back to Victoria and visit Chongos again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chongo's Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing