We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Bateman Centre

Robert Bateman Centre
Ranked #15 of 175 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Legendary Canadian artist and naturalist Robert Bateman has spent a lifetime painting the natural world and animals from all over the world. Come explore seven decades of his inspiring work in our gallery, and experience nature's beautiful animals up close. Our new temporary gallery space shows an ever-changing variety of exhibits, so there is always something new to explore! At the Robert Bateman Gallery Shop you will find a selection of Robert Bateman's books, prints and gifts, along with art by local artists.
Calgary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small but lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

A mix of originals and prints. I don't see a problem with this. I also did not see a problem paying $12.
I am not a huge fan of Bateman but I do enjoy his work and found his story fascinating and his work beautiful. The size and scale of some of his paintings are amazing. We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    143
    28
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful Displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had a very rushed visit to the Robert Bateman Centre. I wished I had more time there, but what I saw was beautiful! So many works of art and in such a beautiful building. Very well done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
434 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Thoughtful Representation In A Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a perfect use for the historic Steamship Terminal! An art gallery showing a thoughtful representation of Robert Bateman's incredible art. The building was built in the 1920's by the
talented Francis Rattenbury who also, designed the famous B,C. Parliament Buildings & the iconic Empress Hotel. All these building are on Victoria's beautiful inner habour.

The gallery is comprised of many mini galleries that give the viewer glimpses into Bateman's development as an outstanding artist. They span the time from when he was a boy until his current work. His Impressionistic work through to his Representational work featuring animal, birds, landscapes, portraits & more are well represented. The African gallery was a wonderful surprise! I found that the Commentary gallery with it's graphic documentation of how man is impacting wild life almost unbearable in it's realism. There are plans for more mini galleries of Bateman's work within this lovely space. I will return again & again to see this artist's inspirational work.

Be sure to check out the gift store on the ground floor. It cares a selection of finely crafted pieces by local artists selected by Bateman.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank condu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent art and a fine restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you like wildlife art, especially birds, then this is the place to visit and make it a point of eating here because the cafe is one of the best in Victoria!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,617 reviews
811 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to Victoria!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have always want to see this exhibit, however never found time until last weekend. We have always been a great fan of his later works and this display was nicely laid out for the public to see! Nice to see the interactive bird sounds and the addition of new displays coming for the future. The exhibit makes you want more and we hope it will expand sooner than later! I hope they revise the short introductory movie with Robert to explain more of this experiences.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Bateman Centre also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Robert Bateman Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing