We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guild

The Guild
Ranked #121 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, International, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: British Fare. Craft Beer. Locally Sourced. The Guild is a more than just another concept restaurant. Like the actual meaning of the word "guild" It represents a reclaiming of the idea that people who work together and share common values can create something that is stronger than what any one person can do alone. Our food is distinctly common in practice but exhibits true craftsmanship, care and value. We take pride in associating ourselves with local producers and using our kitchen as a gateway for their products. Our beer list is curated to showcase the best of craft and micro-brewed beer from the anywhere in the world. Our list is extensive and will always be changing. We have 12 taps and a large selection in the bottle. . . . SAM BENEDETTO - CHEF - THE GUILD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped by for an "authentic" British meal on our one day in Victoria. My wife and I order the fish and chips which were fine. The kids had hamburgers, which were interestingly spiced and my wife commented she was unsure if they were real meat.

The extra point on the rating is for a very nice beer selection. I had the Phillips collaborative beer, since I wanted something local on our trip. The Scottish Ale my wife had was spot on (I'm a brewer) and if we had more time, I might have ordered a couple pints more.

The bar area is very authentic with dark wood and a knowledgeable staff. The interesting thing about the place was that the ENTIRE staff looked like they came out of magazine cover. This is the place to work if you're attractive!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    28
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best of Brit, in Victoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Absolutely wonderful food and beverages!! The Beer selection alone is well worth returning again and again (I highly recommend the "Dark Matter"). The menu is chocked full of authentic British fair with all of the expertise and ambiance to boot! Good natured and well-educated service and very reasonable $ for the area. The cheddar and ale soup is the greatest thing I have ever had on a spoon!! Keep it up Guild, we shall return =^]

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First visit to the Guild”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Guild has been open for 4 weeks now. The food is imaginative and the beer selections are numerous and interesting. All 8 of us enjoyed the evening. Service is also friendly. This is a place we will come back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place fits in perfect for it's location. It is a tourist trap that offers OK service, mediocre food that is under cooked and over priced. The beer is a joke, $7 for a half warm 12oz "pint" is an insult to any customer. If they are going for an authentic British experience they are hitting it spot on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great room, great beer selection, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been here three of four times now ... the beer selection is wonderful and the flight option makes it easy to sample different ones. Their licensing means you have to order some food but since they have such great appies on the menu this is no hardship. I love the room. The bar is beautiful and the huge windows looking onto Wharf allow for good people watching - much better than being in a dark pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RoseVictoriabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guild also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Guild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing