We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new! We went for lunch the first week it opened!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Itami Sushi

Itami Sushi
Ranked #384 of 1,177 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brand new! We went for lunch the first week it opened!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were walking around looking for the Crepe Restaurant but could not find it. We saw this new sushi place next to the Dutch Bakery ( yummy!).

We were a huge group of 6 adults and 3 children under age 6. This place and many lunch specials. We each ordered a different one and loved what we got. Two adults ordered many items from the sushi list and they said " the sushi was excellent". They raved over the quality of the seafood and fish.

It was my first time for fried milk and it was tasty!

Our service was great the entire time! The little ones ordered off the children's menu and ate like there was no tomorrow!

The new restaurant had beautiful dishes and tea ware. The staff was great!

www.itamisushi.com

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Pretty.... Everything"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pretty good price, pretty good portion size, pretty dark interior ( with overly bright lighting to compensate), pretty slow service! ( one of the servers made herself busy pouring tea when there were always at least 5 or more plates up on the sushi bar waiting to be delivered), pretty tasty teriyaki chicken and beef- nice chunks of chicken breast and lean beef. Pretty unusual Bento Box for typical Japanese style- it had a very weird beige sauce covering the rice ( I was told it was Japanese steak sauce), and a square piece of mushy tempura which resembled tofu but wasn't!( It tasted like a dessert- sweet and coconut flavour) pretty huge chunks of iceberg lettuce in the salad portion of the bento box. Pretty average Sushi for around town- no "wow" to it. Pretty gross tuna tataki- the oil it was fried in ruined the flavour. Pretty good location.
Given the other quality Japanese restaurants in town, it may be a pretty long time before we give it a second chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy happy sushi lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Moving to Victoria from Vancouver recently, home of some of the highest quality Sushi restaurants outside of Japan, one of our first tasks was to find a restaurant that we could be excited about for our sushi outings. After several tries that were satisfactory and good, we still felt that hadn't found the ultimate place that would make us really want more. Last evening we finally did.....at Itami Sushi.
The décor felt so cool and modern and the space was spotlessly clean; there was absolutely no unpleasant smell of grease (as we have found in other places) nor fish; My husband and I shared the meal for the most part.....the tuna and salmon Sashimi was the best we have had in a long time...generous pieces of tasty fish with no sign of any fat marbling, a scrumptious soft shell crab, lightly battered and crispy, a prawn tempura roll that was generous in it's filling, the best Agadashi tofu we have had recently and we each had a Sunomono Salad....my husband chose the Special Sunomono which had an good variety of fish. The rice that he ordered I simply could not stay away from, it was that good, the sesame sauce over the rice was a tasty added touch. The portions were perfect for us, with older appetites, we were more than satisfied. Other people with more robust appetites may need a couple of more dishes to satisfy. The service was attentive yet discreet, tea was offered several time and our meal arrived promptly and with everything at the same time.
All in all, we will definitely be back and; we left happy and well satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nanajo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A colleague suggested that we try this new sushi restaurant for an office lunch. It was a good choice as they had no problems serving a large group (14 people). The décor was an interesting modernist Japanese classic, a bit dark as everything was red and brown inside. My biggest complaint (and the reason for marking them down) is that the bench seats were very uncomfortable.

As for the food, everyone was happy with quantity of food. Although there was some debate as to how good it was compared to other local Sushi places. Personally, I was recommended to try a Bento. I had the veggie one. The soup, tofu, rice and fruit were all good. I didn't like the salad. It definitely was good value for lunch. I somehow felt I would have been better off trying the sushi though.

The dessert was something different, tempura fried bananas with chocolate sauce. Although, a proper deep fried banana would have been tastier.

It's worth another visit, to try the sushi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank victoriafoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Does not compare to what is available in Victoria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I read an article about Itami being open and we decided to check it out. We ordered Goma-ae, Miso Soup, and 4 rolls for 2 of us, and left a bit nibbly. The Goma-ae sauce missed the 'sauce' part of sesame sauce. Just tasted like unsalted peanut butter on spinach. Miso was good. The rolls were ok, but way underfilled. The amount of scallop and eel in 2 of the rolls was borderline laughable. The value just isnt there compared to whats out there, even though the prices are quite reasonable. Service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvisee_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itami Sushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Itami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing