We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive venue”
Review of Belfry Theatre

Belfry Theatre
Ranked #77 of 182 things to do in Victoria
Attraction details
Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Attractive venue”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A beautiful little theatre - really cosy but with great acoustics. I am considerably deaf and am always worried about being able to hear in theatres but I caught the majority of the speech and was thus able to appreciate the play fully. Friends took us to see Goodnight Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet) - part of a Shakespeare-themed season. Obviously the play itself was the main attraction but the cute theatre added much to my enjoyment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to attend plays: convenient location, funky atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The "Belfry" as locals refer to it, is a popular location to see plays. The theatre company has been around since the mid '70's and is located in a former Baptist Church built between 1887 and 1892. It is an intimate setting to enjoy some high calibre theatre. It is conveniently located in Fernwood, near downtown Victoria. We have enjoyed many plays there over the last 15 years including a recent production of Letters from Wingfield Farm. The sets are usually clever. Seats are reasonably comfortable. You can bring your tea or wine to your seat to enjoy during the production. Parking is a couple blocks away near Vic High. Most of nearby streets are for residential parking only. We have never had a problem getting parking but we make a point of arriving 30 or more minutes before the play starts. Prices are average. There are several casual places close to the building to enjoy a light meal before or after the play including the Fernwood Inn, which is good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,446 reviews
570 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 851 helpful votes
“Nice space!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The theatre is located in the former Emmanuel Baptist Church. The acoustics and sight lines are very good, and they enhanced the performances of three different Wingfield letters shows we saw there. Parking is a bit of a problem, so if you come by car, be sure to arrive early.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take a Taxi”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Attended a Saturday matinee of an original musical (Let Me Call You Sweetheart) which was indeed sweet and enjoyable. But the real star for me was the theatre itself: an enchanting converted church. Great use of the architecture and wonderful acoustics.
Be forewarned: there is little or no parking adjacent to the theatre. You may have to park at the Victoria High School parking, next to the sports field, which is about three blocks away. A pleasant stroll through a colourful neighbourhood in mid-afternoon sunshine, but after dark or in the rain not so much.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfry Theatre also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Belfry Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing