We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and reasonable prices!!”
Review of La Belle Patate

La Belle Patate
Ranked #367 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great burgers and reasonable prices!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've driven by this place many times but it was only yesterday that we actually decided to try something from their menu. As other reviewers have mentioned, the interior of the restaurant is nothing special to look at, but their food is delicious and is sold at very reasonable prices. We both had cheeseburgers and shared a regular poutine. We're not fans of poutine, but since this place is noted for it's version of the Canadian favourite, we gave it a go, and it really wasn't too bad. The squeaky cheese just isn't our thing, but they certainly make a nice gravy with lovely chips (fries). The burgers were excellent and well prepared. Since we're both "neat freaks" we'd only ask the owner to tidy up the place and give it a good scrub - that's just a personal preference as we realize that the unkempt appearance adds a certain charm for many customers. Thanks for the great meal, La Belle Patate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwazycanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Smoked Meat in Victoria”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Don't let the simple interior decor of this small place fool you. They make the best smoked meat sandwiches, poutine and steamed hot dogs in Victoria, just like I used to have when I lived in Montreal. Come early if you're here for lunch because it fills up very quickly. I'm lucky to live so close to this place, so I can get my fix of smoked meat often. Friendly staff too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rundleskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poutine at it's best”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i like the small place feeling and the friendly service. food was priced right.could use some updating on the inside

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome poutine”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was craving poutine on my stay at the English Inn and they pointed me towards Belle Patate. It was a few blocks walk and fantastically authentic. Full of navy personnel and felt like I was in Montreal. Great for when you need a greasy poutine fix.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you are as pat from Montreal you must go!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow... We recently learned about this restaurant. My hubby is from Montreal and grew up on steamed hot dogs from Decarie hot dog which everyone knows is simply the best ever. La Belle definitely wins hands down with steamed hot dogs and fries, it is obfuscated they were mentored by the best. Apparently they have the best poutine but we aren't poutine eaters. Limited seating but of course take out service is available. This will be a frequent stop on our trips to Victoria.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Patate also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to La Belle Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing