We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More promise than delivery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“More promise than delivery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Given the chain's reputation, the location (and the price) I was expecting a pretty first class experience here and was a bit disappointed. As others have noted the property is in an excellent location in downtown Victoria (right behind the Empress) though no better than several other hotels. The room I would characterize as satisfactory so far as size and layout. Check-in was handled quite poorly. 8:00 p.m. in a conference hotel there was one desk clerk who seemed to attach no sense of urgency to the line of guests waiting in front of him. And then we got a room on the lowest floor with a view of nothing in particular and the ice machine right across the hall. Other small problems which really should not have happened. For instance there was no coffee to go along with the coffee maker, we had to ask a housekeeper for some. And on the final morning when, for the first time, we actually did want to make coffee, it turned out the coffee maker was not functional (a component was missing). Or at the pool (a very nice pool to be sure) located beside a deck with chairs and loungers clearly designed for those wet from from pool, exiting from the pool to the deck the door locks behind you and the room key does not readmit you. That kind of thing. On the other hand the housekeeper who serviced our room on our 3rd and 4th day of our stay was one of the best we've encountered. Polite and very smart. Would we stay here again? We might. Will we stay here again? Likely not, likely we'll try out another property when next we're in Victoria.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is excellent and a good value relative to ordering anything else off the menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    438
    74
    20
    12
See reviews for
282
465
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Marriott is in a great location. Rooms are pretty average and the restaurant was okay for breakfast. Didnt really enjoy the conference lunch that was provided. But one can walk pretty well anywhere from the hotel as it is very centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Marriott is a great choice if you have already done the Empress and want a nice close to the harbor experience without the cost of the Empress. The hotel is modern and cheerful and the service is good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location of this hotel was terrific. Otherwise this place is not terribly distinctive. The concierge lounge was closed for the weekend. Typical rooms. No complaints. Expensive parking at $25 a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

19 - 24 May 2013
Location makes this hotel worth the expense. Many restaurant choices near by inner harbour is 2 blocks away, near tours, museum and many attractions.
The room was well kept, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. There is a cooler (not a refrigerator - maybe it isn't cool enough) and the cleaning was well done.
Staff were very friendly. Ate 3 times in the lounge, great service and outstanding food, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This ain't the Empress nor a boutique, but this is a very clean solid hotel. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the staff unfailingly courteous. The bathroom is a bit awkward in layout and the desk is too high to use the computer comfortably. However the location is perfect, walking distance to everything downtown and a short walk to buses to the university or anywhere.

Room Tip: try for a balcony, not all rooms have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 756Annie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the hotel. We wanted to walk the city and were in a great location to do so. Close to public transportation. The city in June offers more locations to local attraction. There are not really great views to consider an upgrade since it is in an area with other high rises.
We had an issue the third day with someone breaking the no smoking rule. The moved us to an upgraded room and offered to help move our belongings for us. My only comment is that they could have left us a message about the issue rather then having us call and they could have had a room selected for us to move to rather then us having to go down while they checked to see where they could move us to. This was not a questionable smell of smoke but Very overwhelming. All in all, I would consider a return visit if we visit Victoria again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosecityOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 53 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Property: Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Address: 728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located downtown Victoria, the award winning Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour is walking distance to all there is to see and do in Victoria. Stroll to the famous Inner Harbour for Victoria attractions, musicians and artisans, and whale watching tours. Our Victoria BC hotel guestrooms feature the kind of luxury you would expect from a Four Diamond Marriott Hotel including feather duvets and luxury linens, deluxe robes, free wireless high-speed Internet and individual climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Marriott Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing