We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast”
Review of Jam Cafe

Jam Cafe
Ranked #1 of 57 Coffee & Tea in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Newly opened breakfast and lunch restaurant in Victoria, B.C.
Modesto, California
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I ate here one time for breakfast during our recent vacation in Victoria. I wanted to try the restaurant due to all the positive reviews on trip advisor. I was expecting a wait due to the popularity of the cafe, but when we visited on a week day, we did not have to wait long. We were not disappointed in choosing this cafe. It was very difficult to make a choice as the menu items are so interesting, innovative and sounded so tasty. I decided on the green eggs and ham which include scrambled eggs with pesto, spinach and crumbled goat cheese on top of slices of ham and with a biscuit. The biscuits here are huge, one half is almost bigger than most normal sized biscuits. My breakfast also came with hash browns and grilled tomatoes. My food was excellent and a large portion. I asked for some jam which they brought in a small cup (homemade raspberry/peach). My husband had a breakfast which included fried chicken with sausage gravy and two sunny side up eggs on top of a biscuit with hash browns. He also really enjoyed his breakfast. It is difficult not to gawk at the breakfast choices of the other patrons. All of the items looked delicious with very large portions. A patron sitting near us had chocolate french toast (two huge pieces that came with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. Another person had the red velvet pancakes that were enormous and drizzled with cream cheese icing. The menu includes other enticing items such as pulled pork pancakes, brioche french toast with carmelized bananas, several kinds of eggs benedict, omelettes, pan fried oatmeal and huevos rancheros, to name just a few. Our waitress was just delightful, friendly and attentive and gave us a good tip for dinner. There are a number of great breakfast places in Victoria and this is definitely one of the best. The cafe also serves lunch. I would have loved to eat here again, for either breakfast or lunch, but alas did not have the opportunity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    130
    32
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No Jam for us”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were also lucky enough to arrive when there was no queue for this cafe (around 11.30 am weekday) and had a lovely table in the window area! Service was quick and the waitresses very chatty and knowledgeable regarding the menu. We ordered the Fruit Bowls to start with and they were full of fresh seasonable fruit and not just jammed with melon! Next order was the 2 egg Breakfast with crispy bacon, hash browns and multigrain toast delicious. Coffee flowed on another lovely breakfast in Victoria!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfwidow2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast jam”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

There are some excellent breakfast restaurants in Victoria serving good home-produced food in friendly and lively manner, and this is one of the best. We didn't have to queue, and the simple meal of fresh fruit bowl followed by poached eggs, bacon, hash browns and multigrain toast (with jam!) and lashings of freshly brewed coffee was superb. The ambience was good rather than inspirational, otherwise this place would have got the top rating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigertim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No wonder it's Jam..med!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is tiny, but seems to almost always have a line ups or abuzz with activity! This Cafe is only open for breakfast and brunch & they don't take reservations.

What a find; my husband & I were lucky to hit a time they weren't crowded and asked if we could have our lunch quickly because of an appointment. They nicely accommodated us in under 30 minutes, even warning us which dishes take the longest time to prepare! Their special house salad was large & delicious, my husband gobbled his lunch and ran for his appointment.

There is a lot to choose from on the menu and daily specials are really mouth watering. We had great service and will be back with friends in tow!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“B.E.L.T.C.H.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bacon, egg, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and ham served on multigrain bread. Best lunch in ages. Can be very busy but it was worth the wait. Great place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrK_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Jam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing