We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, below average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clay Pigeon - CLOSED

The Clay Pigeon
Cuisines: American, Canadian, International
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, below average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We waited 30 minutes for a table which was fine, they were busy. However, once we were seated we were still waiting for about another 25 minutes. People all around us, that had arrived after us, were being served. We hadn't even been given water. Finally I asked a server if we had a waitress for our table and shortly one arrived. The special that day was a dish that included waffles, the waitress informed us that since they only had one waffle maker, ordering it would entail yet more of a wait. It apparently didn't matter that none of ordered a waffle because we ended up waiting an additional 40 minutes before receiving our breakfast. The food was mediocre at best. We were trying to attend an event that we had left ourselves plenty of time to get to, but after this debacle we missed half of it. Save your money, the food and service are better at any coffee shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    16
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
270 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not just for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate at Clay Pigeon twice whilst in Victoria for 4 nights in May.
The 1st was a breakfast/brunch and the second an evening meal on our last night.
We chose the Clay Pigeon because we had enjoyed the brunch and it felt as if we were experiencing real "Canadian" food.
The evening meal is casual dining, the service was great and food very tasty with a twist.
The real bonus is the price which was very reasonable for the quality we had.
Definitely the a great finish to our Victoria visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely small room with great lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friend of mine suggested that we try clay pigeon restaurant while we are visiting, and we went today for lunch. The small room was very busy. The staff were attentive and friendly, especially the server wearing the nice textured red pants.
I tried their bison tongue Reuben sandwich with the kale slaw. Both were excellent. My husband tried the chicken salad sandwich and had devil egg as a starter. He really enjoyed both.
We will definitely return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mantraray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best breakfast in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This little cafe has the BEST breakfast that we had on our week-long trip. We both ordered Fritt-wiches both mornings because they are so darn good. We wanted to try all sorts of restaurants on our trip, but this one kept us coming back for more. Their other breakfast sandwiches looked delicious also, but we loved our Fritt-wich so much we couldn't deviate. Great value too at less than $10 per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

And by that I mean flavorful. How things taste is what matters here. Everything we had was quite good. Portions aren't exactly huge, but are adequately sized. A repeat visit a couple of weeks after the first visit was a similar experience. Both visits were for dinner. Takes a while for the food to come (even when they're not busy).. but it's well worth the wait if you're not in a hurry. Has a bit of a Euro feel. Seating is tight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank room_surveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Pigeon also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing