We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, friendly staff, guests from around the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
victoria
1 review
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff, guests from around the world.”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Staying at the Ocean Island Backpackers Hostel has truly been a great experience for me. I planed on staying for two weeks, but have been here much longer. The staff are incredible, super friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is clean and has a great atmosphere. There is always fresh coffee and yummy snacks, as well as a huge kitchen, lounge area, laundry, computers, games, movies & books available for use. During my stay, I have been in several rooms, all have been clean and comfortable. The location of the hostel is perfect, right downtown, within walking distance from anything you could be looking for. I have to say my favourite thing about the hostel is the staff who keep this place running, and the other guests I have met. There are people staying here from all over the world, speaking different languages and sharing cultures. I also love the bar, it serves great food and drinks, and the live entertainment has always been enjoyable. I would recommend staying at the hostel to anyone, especially those on a fixed budget, the prices are cheap!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    196
    99
    41
    19
See reviews for
22
123
231
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2009

very helpful at the counter, my cozy and clean. Great location, very close to downtown and every thing I need access to. what I like best is the price for my room and the services offered.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funckyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

It was the best place about Victoria for me. Great place to chill, meet people. I hardley had to leave.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youwutup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Had a great time staying at Ocean Island. Awesome location, close to downtown and the harbour. Staff were very friendly and always helpful when asked for assistance. There's a cool little bar downstairs that serves drinks and reasonably-priced, healthy food. Plenty of activities available with live music acts on weekends. Would recommend for independent travellers looking to meet people and have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimihorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I've known of this place for a number of years before I had the chance to actually stay here. From day one, the staff treated me with respect, and their casual yet professional manner was a fine line that had the air of 'coolness' to it.

I've recommended this place to a number of travellers enroute to Vancouver Island. I'm sure they were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shwailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we had read some reviews beforehand. Must say that the Website shows bright airy rooms but in fact our room was so small that we barely had room for our 2 packs to put on the floor and no window.I would hate to be in this building during and emergency such as a fire. There would be no escaping if this was the case.
There seems to be a lot of long-term residents who live there on a permanent basis.
Outside the front entrance one needs to walk through a gauntlet of drunks,drug users and cigarette smoke. People openly smoke pot and do other drugs in the open not just in front of this hostel but all over the downtown of this city. I never felt unsafe but was surprised.
There is a Pub in the location and it is extremely hard to walk around in it when it is full and also it was so loud ....not a place to have a quiet conversation or place to relax.
The communal kitchen is a pigpen as it seems no one does their dishes so there are dirty pots,pans and dishes everywhere.
The bathroom near our room looked like something from a B-Movie.


Overall we will not ever stay there again if passing through Victoria.
If you want a quiet time this is not the place to be. Not a place for those with kids this is not a cool place and if you have physical disabilities there are stairs up to the 4th floor but no lift available. If you are into drunk people a loud bar for partying and a room the size of a casket with walls so thin that you can hear the neighbors having sex then you would be better off paying to stay at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanIslandManager, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2009
Thanks for your input.

We are definitely a hostel and not a rooming house. Most of our guests stay for just one or two nights, however we do have some guests who stay for longer. These are mostly students and foreign travellers. We feel that having a variety of people enhances the atmosphere.

We would definitely recommend reading reviews of any accommodation before booking. Customer reviews can be useful, but they are subjective and can sometimes be inaccurate. We consistently get great reviews from travel professionals and guidebook writers, you can look up Lonely Planet, Fodor's and Frommer's online.

You'll be happy to hear that Canada, British Columbia, and Victoria have very strict building and fire safety codes. We have regular visits by the building inspector and fire safety inspector to ensure we meet these codes. We also have a sprinkler system throughout the building, which some smaller or less recently renovated buildings don't have. Our building inspector has informed us that no one has every died or been seriously injured in a building in Canada that is equipped with a sprinkler system.

We do have some very small rooms without windows. These have mechanical ventilation that draws air from the roof, conform to all safety standards, and of course are kept clean and well maintained. What makes them especially popular is their prices, as low as $28 a night in the winter for a single person. If price is not the main issue, we have 10 categories of rooms that go right up to large hotel sized rooms, featuring a private bathroom, closet, cable tv, and of course, a window. Should you decide to stay with us again, please inquire about a larger room that might better suit your needs.

British Columbia recently enacted a law banning all smoking 3 meters from windows or doors, and we vigorously enforce this law especially in our entranceway. We are on a busy street however, and we can't control everyone passing by our building. As you remarked, like most Canadian cities, the city of Victoria has people doing drugs openly, and this is a problem, but luckily it is a very safe city.

We do have a licensed café on location, that, while popular, is far from the experience of a noisy pub. If you're looking for a quiet place to read or relax, we have other areas that you might prefer.

We clean our guest kitchen and all the dishes twice a day. Sometimes during the peak dinner periods, you would of course find some dishes in the sink or in use.

We're in the process of a $63,000 renovation to all of our bathrooms, several of which have been completed. We have put a sign on each of our bathrooms to direct guests to the renovated ones, if they desire.

For travellers with children, we have quiet family rooms. For travellers with physical disabilities, we have rooms on our first floor. We do our best to place our guests in the rooms that will suit them, but do rely on guests to let us know if they are unhappy with their room. Unlike many hostels which only cater to young backpackers, we frequently accommodate families with children, seniors, and business travellers. Quiet hours begin at midnight, and we have staff on duty 24 hours to deal with any noise complaints.

We encourage anyone who has any comments or concerns about Ocean Island to contact us directly as soon as possible when the issue is occurring - we'd be more than happy to find resolutions to them.

Adam Bartosik
Manager
Ocean Island Backpacker's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed here for a whole month and don't have any complaints. Staff was great. I had a very tiny room on the ground level that sound from the bar penetrated easily, but it was fine. I often woke up at 5 AM for work, but the sound from the bar, accept maybe once when a band with a drummer was playing, was never an issue. Bathrooms were always clean, in fact some one seemed to be in there every day cleaning them. Location is perfect. Price wise, it seems expensive for such a small space, but factoring in the location (and I also had a parking space) it was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Property: Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing