We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funky Place!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I'll start off by saying if you're looking for a luxurious, typical, Delta-style experience, this is not your place. However, if you are looking for a community atmosphere, to immerse in culture, and to have fun and get to know people, this is the PERFECT place. My boyfriend & I backpacked around the island, and we made a choice to not stay at brand name hotels, rather guest houses and hostels. We didn't regret it. Ocean Island definitely embodies the spirit of the island, from the awesome paint colours to the very friendly and welcoming staff. Not your typical stay, but I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    196
    99
    41
    19
See reviews for
22
123
230
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Based on what I read here before I booked, I really should've known better. I'll try to be brief because all things that went wrong were already mentioned in older reviews.
1. checkin: dreamy receptionist continued to serve drinks and maintained a conversation with his buddies that are standing around the front desk while we are being checked in.
2. private room: hot and noisy even on a cool fall day. windows don't close because the glass simply doesn't fit the frame.
3. no fire excape (how is this legal??)
4. overcrowded: lounge, entrance, hallways are cramped while there is a huge crowd staying here.
5. seedy area of town with matching individuals aimlessly hanging around the front door (hostel guests perhaps)
6. angry scribbled note on our car because we were parked on the outer line of our designated parking spot. There was more than enough space for a car to fit next to ours so it took us minutes to figure out why the scolding note.
After this all, we left with a bad taste and found out later there are plenty of hotels offering same rates. Don't be fooled by trendy interior colours and promises! be smarter than me!

Room Tip: If you really really insist on going, perhaps try the expensive larger rooms that do not have a wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there,
While we’re glad that you took the time to review us online, it seems a shame you didn’t enjoy yourself while at Ocean Island. With regards to your comments on our staff; we pride ourselves on great customer service. If you are unhappy with our staff at any time, a manager would have been happy to speak to you.
You mentioned previous reviews - we’ve actually worked very hard to earn the best reviews and rating of any budget accommodation in Victoria on this site!

We're the largest inn and backpackers on Vancouver Island and can accommodate 185 people in our 80 rooms. Our café can seat 50 guests, and our lounge and lobby have plenty of couches and computer terminals. So we feel that we have ample common areas available, and that while at times they may be pleasantly busy and lively, we feel that they are never overcrowded.

Regarding the fire escape - we conform to all local building and fire codes, and have a second stairwell in the back of the building. We also have a modern sprinkler system throughout our entire building, which makes Ocean Island completely fire-safe.

Our heating system is adjustable in each room, so guests can choose a temperature that’s right for them. Our maintenance staff regularly checks all rooms, including windows.
Regarding our location; Victoria is known for being a safe city, even in the downtown core where we are located. However, like any city, there can be some odd characters around at night. Ocean Island ensures all guests’ security with our locked front door and interior doors, and 24 hour front desk staffing.
If a guest’s car is improperly parked in our lot, we politely seek them out to notify them that they may need to move. We do not scribble angry notes and deliver them to guests. It would seem as though a fellow guest was unhappy with your parking job and made sure you were aware of it.
Again, it’s unfortunate to hear that you were less than satisfied here. While we provide fun, upbeat, yet professional accommodation at Ocean Island, this atmosphere is not always what a guest is looking for. We encourage you to research your accommodation choices in the future to ensure you've chosen a place more suited to your tastes.
Kind regards,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was a lot of fun, mainly to the staff organising fun pub crawls and events in their own bar to get everyone involved and meeting new people. It is close to everything you need and great place to relax after your long day of sightseeing and adventures. The rooms are near a busy road but unless you're a really light sleeper it shouldn't bother you. I would definitely recommend this place and if I head back to Victoria I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini_Seia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi there, and thank you for your review!
It’s always rewarding to hear that a guest such as yourself has such a wonderful time while staying with us. It’s great that you got involved in our pub crawl and our events - we try to ensure that all our guests have a happy and memorable experience in Victoria!
Just in case late night noise is an issue, we provide complimentary ear plugs - or, if a guest is unhappy with their room, we’ll do our best in finding one that better suits them! Our friendly 24 hour front desk staff is always more than happy to help.
Thank you again for your glowing review, we look forward to you visiting us again!
Stay beautiful,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We began with a short walk from the bus stop to the main location in Sidney, where we were greeted by the friendliest young desk clerk. We had booked an apartment suite at the second location, but had arrived early and were hoping to stash our bags while we rooted around Victoria. The clerk made a couple of phone calls, told us our room was ready and that she had already called a complimentary cab for us. The main location office was a very friendly, bustling place with lots of young people. It had a great vibe.

Our apartment suite was incredible. Absolutely loved it. Super-duper clean; very modern Ikea-type decor and furnishings and hardwood flooring, and everything you could possibly want as far as amenities, including an iron and ironing board. It had a lovely backyard with a sitting area, and a laundry room. The neighborhood was incredible with lots of interesting architecture.

We were within walking distance of just about everything you could possibly want to see, and there was a bus stop just around the corner, although, I don't think we used it ever. I still can't believe what a great place this was, especially considering how inexpensive it was to stay here. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: The apartment suites are incredible and worth the extra price if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thePeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to give our suites such a thorough and positive review! We couldn’t be more pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. It goes a long way to hear such positive feedback, it lets our hard working staff at Ocean Island know that their attention to detail is appreciated.
We hope you left our suites with fond memories and great experiences, and that you consider us in the future if you ever find yourself back on Vancouver Island - we’d love to see you again!
Safe and happy travels,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very tight room. No room to place your luggage ect. No AC. 5 washrooms per floor, great that it is not a communal washroom. No free breakfast, of course no elevators. Easy access from the bus which takes you to and from the ferry. Not far from the habour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello there and thank you for your review.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed some important aspects of your stay, such as our ample private style bathrooms, and our ideal downtown location and easy access to transit, but are sorry to hear that not all aspects of Ocean Island were to your liking; here at Ocean Island we have a variety of private rooms available for our guests to choose from, from our budget-friendly mini private rooms to our queen rooms with ensuite bathrooms. Should our small and inexpensive rooms not be to your liking, our 24 hour front desk staff would be happy to assist in finding a more suitable room for often just a few dollars more.
Victoria has a moderate temperature almost all year round, with very short warm spells during the peak of summer only. So we equip all rooms with fans and if an extra fan is needed, we have more available for you.

Ocean Island focuses on providing the lowest possible rates in the city, rather than offering free services that not all guests want or use. That way, each of our guests benefits from what we offer! While we do not have complimentary breakfast, we do have one of the best breakfast deals in the city at $5.95, and are ideally located near two absolutely delicious all-day breakfast joints. And, of course, our communal kitchen is accessible at all hours of every day if you choose to make breakfast on your own.
Our historic 1891 building is not equipped with an elevator, however, our friendly front desk staff is more than happy to help with luggage, should any guest need it. If stairs are an issue for a guest, we are able to reserve a room on the ground floor.

Thank you again for reviewing us.
Safe travels,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a model of the way a hostel should be run. Friendly knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, secure, great downtown location, excellent value, good wi-fi on all 4 floors, bar and restaurant, daytime and nightly activities, nearby parking, all kinds of maps and information, etc. Rooms are small and basic (quieter on upper floors) with plenty of clean, shared bathrooms, an unbeatable value!

Room Tip: While there's no elevator, rooms on 3rd and 4th floor are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRogers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for such a glowing review!
It’s a pleasure to hear that you thought so highly of us, from our front desk team and housekeeping staff, to our security measures, our downtown location, our handy travel information, all the way to our reliable wifi and tasty Cafe! We try to think of everything so that our guests can make the best use of their time enjoying beautiful Victoria BC.
We’re so glad you took the time to give us positive feedback on what we provide here at Ocean Island, it lets us know we’re on the right track to providing the best possible experience at unbeatable rates in Victoria. If you ever find yourself back in this lovely city in the future, we’d love for you to stop in again!
Kind regards,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location was great. I took the ferry from Vancouver to Victoria, then the bus, which dropped us off right downtown. From the hostel, it's a short 10 minute walk to the waterfront. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so they stored our bags as we explored the city. When I got back at night, I got a private room on the first floor. At first I was worried that it would be too noisy, but it wasn't a problem. And the bathroom was right across the hall. The bed was comfortable. The room had a fan, table, 2 chairs and a small fridge. Just what we needed for an affordable place to stay. A good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Property: Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing