We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a good value hostel. It's reasonably clean and has friendly staff, good food, a cozy bar, and live music on most nights. Check in was efficient, with many languages spoken. For $25 pp per night, it's a nice place to lay your head on the cheap in Victoria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBOtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    192
    97
    40
    19
See reviews for
22
123
226
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days while we traveled around Victoria. Almost all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose to stay in a private room with our own bathroom and were happy with our decision. If you are on the fence about staying in a hostel vs. hotel, this is the way to go! If we were to go back, the only thing I would do differently is bring my own pillow and a cheap foam pad to use for the bed. (NOT comfortable!) The hostel is clean and the location is prime for exploring the city.

Room Tip: If you book a couple months in advance, ask the staff for the quietest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing us!
We are extremely pleased that you decided to stay with us rather than a traditional hotel, and that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful; that’s what we’re all about at Ocean Island Inn. It sounds as though you chose one of our en-suite Queen rooms, which are the perfect option for couples looking for a hotel-style room at an unbeatable price! I’m sorry to hear that you found the bed in your room less than ideal - we use medium-firm mattresses and pillows that seem popular with most of our guests. However, in light of your comments, we’re looking into providing additional mattress padding for our Queen rooms, and we’ll check through our pillows to ensure they’re in good condition. Excellent room tip, too - although you don’t need to book a couple of months in advance to request a quieter room - a few days is usually fine, perhaps a week or two in the summer.
It sounds as though you had a great time exploring Victoria from our prime location, and we couldn’t be happier about it.
Thanks again! Enjoy your travels, and perhaps one day we’ll see you two in Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hostel is overrated. So, to be fair, let's put things straight. The beds were of low quality... hard mattresses and unstable structure made them rocking. There were no ventilation systems in the rooms, so you either had to open the windows and hear the noises from the street below, or suffocate with all the people inside your room. The concept of having to carry your food from your room to the kitchen every time you wanted to cook was very unpleasant. The kitchen wasn't well equipped and there were no possibility to drink other alcohol than from their cafe. I have to agree that the place was clean, but they should have been more picky about the people they were hiring, some people were nice but others were clearly lacking politeness or good manners. So now, I say, unless you want to earn your stay and plan on drinking so much you could sleep anywhere afterwards, AVOID THIS HOSTEL. I'm thinking people who were earning their stay wrote good reviews... One word, BIAS!
Oh, and one more thing... don't bother asking them for parking...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Owner at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello there and thank you for reviewing Ocean Island.
I’m sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience at our inn. Regarding our mattresses, we use a medium firm, high quality foam mattress that’s popular with most of our guests. I’m sorry to hear it was less than ideal for you. Our dorm beds all have sturdy metal frames, but we will take an extra look at them to be sure that they are all in good repair.
Regarding ventilation, we feel that fresh air from open windows is a pretty effective system. If you feel that your room is too noisy or has any other issue, we encourage you to approach our 24 hour front desk staff so they can remedy the situation. Our rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes and we can usually find a more suitable room- perhaps one of our four person dorm rooms away from the street, or one of our small and inexpensive private rooms would have been more ideal for you. We feel that our dorm rooms are a good size with a maximum of 6 beds per room; a lot less crowded than some larger hostels which can have up to 20 beds per room.
We have a large refrigerator for food storage in the kitchen, as well as small fridges in each room, so the choice is yours where to leave your food. Our kitchen offers 3 sinks, 2 ovens, 3 cooking ranges, 3 microwaves, and plenty of counter space. It’s also equipped with all manner of cutlery, utensils, dishes, pots and pans, and small appliances, which we inventory regularly. Please let us know specifically what you thought was missing so we can consider including it.
Alcohol consumption is not permitted by law in any public spaces in BC, including our dorms and common areas. But our licensed cafe allows our guests to enjoy drinks and meals conveniently at unbeatable prices for Victoria. And of course, if you are in a private room you can drink your own alcohol!
Thanks for mentioning how clean you found Ocean Island, we work hard to ensure that our historic character building is in top shape at all times. We’re glad that you found some of our staff friendly, but we’re sorry you didn’t feel that way about all of them. We do ongoing work and training to ensure the best possible guest service and experience, and we’ll bring up your comments with everyone.
In regards to your suggestion that our staff members write the positive reviews about us online, we can assure you that this is not that case- we’re proud to have earned all those reviews by providing quality, affordable accommodation that people enjoy. Also, websites such as Trip Advisor have ways to ensure that all reviews are authentic.
Considering our downtown location, we have excellent parking options- six spaces in our own private parking lot, and virtually limitless parking across the street from us, both at below average prices for Victoria.
We hope that despite your concerns, you will consider staying with us again, and give us a chance to show you why we receive so many positive reviews!

Safe travels,
Ocean Island Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exshaw, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ocean Island is top-notch: professional, clean, friendly. They had open mic live music, good scene, great security, great location, very professional and helpful. If only there were an Ocean Island in all major Canadian cities!

Room Tip: I chose a private room, still a great deal and great ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

After staying in the Ivanhoe Hostel off Main Street in Vancouver a few months before I seem to have built up a ridiculous phobia of hostels; however, when I decided to last minute trip to Victoria this seemed like a natural choice given the low price and great reviews.

Long story short is that they overbooked me (I booked on HostelWorld); I almost died. However within seconds the manager had offered me an ensuite private room, for the same price of course, and all was forgiven. The property itself was clean, although I can't comment on the dorms obviously. The bedroom I stayed in was spacious and the bed was relatively comfortable. Shower was great, location was good ( about a ten minute walk from the waterfront) and I really have nothing to complain about and would happily recommend this hostel to friends looking for a cheap place to stay when visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a couple we decided on a single room that proved to be everything that we needed. We shared the bathroom which sometimes had a bit of a puddle but there were 5 other bathrooms on the floor if it got too wet. Staff was very nice, helpful and recommended great places to eat and fun things to do. The price was very affordable and they even have the option to work for your accommodation which is cool, especially for students like us. Location was central, we walked everywhere and had no problems getting back. Lots of great places to eat in the immediate area and was right next to a Tim Hortons :) We liked the live entertainment at night, the whole hostel had great vibes. Definately not a luxury hotel but it had character. All in all we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor in the back of the building was very quiet other than occasional foot traffic. Be prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessybear6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I'm new to the hostel thing. I always found it weird to stay with other people in the same room. How wrong I was!
This was a decent place to stay for the $20/night they charge. Got a mixed dorm room with 2 other guys and 2 girls. The girls at the front are extremely helpful, will answer anything you need to know about Victoria. Awesome people!

Rooms are very SMALL and the beds are not the comfiest - I would rate the beds about a 6/10. Towel service is $1 plus 7 bucks deposit. Lockers are decent size but you might not fit a really huge backpacking style bag in there.
Bathrooms are very nice and nice hot showers with good water pressure.

The cafe/lounge downstairs is open from 5PM until midnight and is truly the epicentre of the hostel. There you'll meet all of your fellow travelers! Good beer specials, food is very cheap. Great people to hang out with, good stories and conversation. The bartenders are really cool and love to chat!

One note: Pandora east of the hostel is crack-central/prostitutes etc. I walked from the 7-11 on Quadra Street and made the mistake of walking down Pandora Ave.....If you need late night munchies, stick to Douglas St.

Overall a really great place, I would stay here again. For a hostel "first-timer" this was a treat!

Room Tip: Don't get second floor, it's right up above the lounge. Ask for a higher floor AWAY from Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToAFarOffLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, Owner at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We work hard here at Ocean Island to ensure that our guests have the best time possible, and it’s wonderful to hear that you found our front desk personnel so helpful and enjoyed our recently renovated bathrooms! We’re also pleased that you enjoyed your new experience in a co-ed dormitory; it’s one of the best ways to meet fellow travelers and exchange stories. With regards to your bed, we use a medium-firm mattress, which we've found to be the most popular. Some of our rooms are indeed very small, which is reflected in the very small price! They’re popular for guests looking for the best price, but we have larger rooms too, for just a few dollars more. Regarding the rooms above our lounge, we always book those rooms last and let guests know about the possible noise from the lounge, which now closes at 11pm. As mentioned in your review we are located right downtown, and unfortunately Victoria does have the same social problems as most modern cities - including that of homelessness. That being the case, our front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you with directions if you feel wary of any specific locations downtown. Oh, and we’re so glad you enjoyed our Cafe and Lounge! We couldn't agree more with you; the cafe is ideal to meet locals and travelers while enjoying a tasty and affordable dinner (and drink or two!) Thank you again for your review, we just love hearing from our happy fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Property: Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing