We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times, good people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here recently while taking a course in Victoria and thought quite highly of the hostel. For a city hostel it was too corporate like I'm used to seeing in the city HIs. the atmosphere was friendly and the staff were cool. It was only very fairly priced, in October anyway. My only slight complaints would be that there was no lounge where I could study without music blaring in my ear and the location was noisy with the traffic, they give out free earplugs for that though so they make up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tosh_from_Whis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi and thank you for reviewing your time with us at Ocean Island.
We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we take pride in being more individual and personable than some other chain hostels and hotels and are more than happy when that is received by our guests! We acknowledge your comments regarding a quiet study space and are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and facilities so we will take this on board. For the moment guests can make use of our Internet cafe for a quieter seated area or alternatively ask our Front Desk Superstars about our large range of rooms with different street side locations to reduce noise. Even our standard double rooms come fully equipped with a desk & chair ideal for the students residing with us at just $6 more than our basic private room!
Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 551 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before and after my boyfriend and I completed the West Coast Trail. Great location. Bar was good even in the middle of the week. We met a couple that had actually met at the hostel years ago, and were about to get married (d'aww). Very cheap storage for luggage, and they have laundry facilities which was VERY HELPFUL after we returned from the trail.

We stayed in a private double room, it was very clean, comfy bed, bathroom was clean, cool art. Staff were awesome, especially with directions!! Seemed a little pricy for a hostel, but we enjoyed our stay.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prariegirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ocean Island.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us whilst in the beautiful city of Victoria and congrats on completing the wonderful west coast trail! After a week of hiking and the outdoors we like to think we are a perfect stop over for backpackers and travellers tackling some of Vancouver Island's infamous (and very lovely) hiking trails, with a range of facilities you can catch up on your laundry, email your vacation snaps to friends and family, feast on a home cooked meal and relax whilst making new friends & memories in our cafe lounge.
We do offer a large range of rooms and pricing (with many private rooms for just $30) so be sure to check out some of our cheaper options should you return! Again thank you for your comments and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hostels in the country. The value for the price is unbeatable. Clean, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The only small issue we came upon was that our room a "mini double" was very tiny for two. The hosts were very accommodating and let us upgrade to a regular double for the rest of our stay for only a couple bucks more. If we knew victoria and our hostel would have been so nice we would have planned to spend more time thee. Well know for next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastcoastbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hello and thank you for reviewing your stay at Ocean Island.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you found your time with us clean, comfortable and friendly - that’s what we are all about here at Ocean Island! We do apologize that you found your room on the small side. Our mini double rooms are ideally meant for the single traveller and we do relay this to guests at time of reservation so we are sorry if this was not the case. Considering your feedback, we are looking at more ways to ensure guests book the room most suited to them.
Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again should you return to the beautiful city of Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After I've stayed at Turtle Hostel (which is the worst hostel ever) in Spring 2010, I've decided to stay at the Ocean Island Inn this Summer (2012) for one night.

It's good value for the cost, very small rooms but as far as I know that is depending on what kind of room you are really book, more or less clean bathrooms and I've met friendly staff members.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you decided to stay with us after a bad experience with another hostel and hope that Ocean Island exceeded your expectations! We love that you think we’re good value, that’s our mission! We do offer a large variety of rooms in all shapes and sizes as you mentioned, this allows us to offer better, more affordable options for the budget traveller with private rooms starting from just a few dollars more than a dorm bed. We feel that our bathrooms are better than more or less clean, since we clean them at least twice a day. But considering your comment, we’ll review our bathroom cleaning procedures.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again at Ocean Island Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with 3 friends for one night in June - was absolutely fine for what we needed. Good value, clean and comfy enough. Good location and just a short walk from Victoria Harbour. Would recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchid1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Ocean Island Inn.
We’re glad to hear that you experienced both a clean and comfortable stay whilst you were here, and that you found us good value! Should you return to the beautiful city of Victoria be sure to check out our free guided walking tours (available in summer months) for a fun and informative tour of local sights and a great way to meet new friends. While our convenient location does make us great for short stays, many of our guests just can’t get enough of us, so they take advantage of our great weekly and two week rates to stay longer.
Again thank you for your review and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days and albeit for a situation when i arrived (long story but the staff handled it well) i didnt let it be my first impression thanks to a roomate that convinced me otherwise.

I had a room overlooking the street which was abit noisy but managed to sleep with the obligatory ear plugs anyone staying in hostels should have. The location is not too bad with a 10 minute walk to the water and about 15 minute to greyhound/pacific coach station.

I didnt spend a whole time in victoria as i travelled north somedays but there was a carpark that was easy enough and value due to the fact its opposite the street. I had one meal and it was decent for hostel food.

The crowd here is a little different to vancouver since victoria really isnt much of a partying place but i never really had any issue. Would consider going back for sure.

Room Tip: Either private it up or avoid the street view rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ocean Island.

As you mentioned we do have a few dorms that overlook the street, these are our ‘Discount Dorms’ due to the fact that they may be a little noisier than others but we also have regular dorms and quieter rooms overlooking the back side of the building which we advise guests to go for if they are light sleepers.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, if you make it back this way we do recommend that you explore Victoria a little more as there are loads of fantastic places to visit. We have an entire wall dedicated to providing information on activities and sights throughout the city and you can even get some great discounts just by being a guest of Ocean Island!

Again thank you for your review and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean hostel in middle of Victoria. Close to downtown and everything else. If you're driving you will have to pay $11 a day for parking. A little expensive for what you get. We got a private double room for $80 a night for 2 of us.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean I, General Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ocean Island Inn, Backpackers & Suites.

We are glad that you experienced a clean and comfortable stay with us and that you found our location convenient.

We believe that we offer excellent prices and value, compared to other accommodation options both in Victoria and other major cities in BC. Parking in our lot is $10 per day, and we also offer $11 per day parking in a lot next to us when our lot is full, which is the lowest price we are aware of in downtown Victoria. There is also free city parking after 6pm daily, all day sunday and holidays.

Regarding our room rates, they are the lowest downtown, and lower than we’ve heard of in other cities, such as Vancouver or Tofino. Victoria accommodation prices are generally quite high in the short summer season. The private room you stayed in for $80 per night would be our most expensive room at our downtown location. We do offer smaller private rooms in the summer for as low as $36 per night, and dorms for as low as $27, and much less in the winter and for extended stays. We advise all guests to chat to our staff or take a look on our website to familiarize themselves with our large variety of room options and pricing, this way you will be sure to find a room that meets your needs!

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again should you return to the wonderful city of Victoria.

Kind Regards

Ocean Island Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
224 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range: $32 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing