We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicap fire exit!!”

Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre
Ranked #48 of 182 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Handicap fire exit!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

In the event of a fire how do you get people with disabilities off the top floor when they are unable to have use of the elevators and they are secured in a scooter or wheelchair!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“sound advice”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

As a Victoria resident it is nice to get quality entertainment coming to the city. However the city really lacks a true building that can produce a clear sound to the great music playing. The save on foods arena sound system sucks as you can hear the cracks and static coming from the system making it hard to hear clear words coming from the singers. the building really is not built for this type of venue. The drinks are over priced as you can pay anywhere from $7.50 to 8 bucks for a drink and the food is bad real bad. They really do not have an area for the retailers to sell a bands goods and once your in for the event, your in as they lock you out if you try and get fresh air during intermission. It would be nice to get some area for fresh air as it can get hot and stale in the place. The city or some group should consider building some place suited for the events so we can get these performers wanting to come back more and more and hopefully have bigger entertainers wanting to come to play. I have to give cudos to save on foods for putting on these events but then we really do not have anywhere else big enough or nice enough to showcase these events. They certainly picked the right name for the place" SAVE ON" as they have saved on putting quality sound, food, prices and other perks in for their patrons. Yes there are the sports fields where music events have been put on but then they also have had their problems in the way they run their shows. Why should islanders have to go to Vancouver to get great entertainment when the island is the best place in the province to showcase BC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank livingmauitime g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very dissatisfied”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I were first time customers, purchased rail seats, asked for a table to eat were told we would have one. Arrived for dinner, told we couldn't have a table as I hadn't reserved it and none were available! I was then told that it was the communications between ticket office and restaurant. We ate at the rail seat... great view!!! Mediocre buffet food. I paid $114.00 and had to listen to about kids standing behind us drunk, loud and obnoxious. The restaurant was half empty the whole time we were there.... don't do it..go elsewhere to eat and buy regular seating tickets.... Blahhhhh!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Werzel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Easy walk for fun hockey game!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed watching the first hockey game I've attended in over 30 years. Only took us about 15 minutes to walk from our downtown hotel. Victoria sure likes their Royals! The fans really got into the game. Clean and food service was good, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,701 reviews
849 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Curling & Hockey”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have attended the Royals hockey games and also enjoyed the Men's World Curling Event. Their is not a bad seat in "The House" and we had a great time at this facility.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing