We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Chinese food....”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Wah Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #352 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Chinese food....”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not bad, not great. I had heard this place was very good, but after trying don't think I will be back again. The food was alright, but with so many great places to eat in Victoria probably won't be back.
Average chinese food. Grade: C+

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuy198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Average lunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went there for lunch today. We had two noodle dishes and a plate of roast duck. Roast duck was good. Sea food chow mein was good. But the shredded chicken and bean sprout chow mein was not so good.
Service was good.
Black chinese tea was average.
Fair price for a quick lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wah-some”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We frequent Sun Wah regularly. Their menu is extensive. Whether you start with Mo Shu pork and the accompanying lettuce leaf wrapping or jump to a main dish such as the crab, scallops or other tasty dishes, the food is rich in flavour, served with care. The staff are warm, friendly and attentive to their guests. Excellent experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taken! Mediocre food and hiked prices”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We went to Sun Wah Chinese Restaurant based on a local's recommendation. We liked the fact that it is a neighborhood place. We chose a shrimp and vegetables dish as well as an oyster dish. Because the oysters did not come with vegetables, we ordered a side dish of beans on the waitress' recommendation. She said it was not on the menu but it was the vegetable of the day. The bean dish came on a platter. We requested a smaller portion but were told that it only came in that size. The oysters were gummy and lacked any taste and the beans were partly burned. When the bill came, the charge for the green beans was $14 which was equivalent to the price of the main courses. When we questioned the charge, we were told that it was a fair price, that many people ordered the beans, and that nobody had complained before. In a word, they knew we were tourists and did not mind treating us shabbily. Usually we like to patronize places frequented by locals, but the treatment we got that night seemed to differ from the one given to regulars.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabonde401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Wah Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sun Wah Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing