We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst travel experience - Locked out and stranded at 11:30 pm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
Ranked #71 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband booked a suite, letting the owner know that we would arrive at 10:30 pm. She said she would leave a key under the mat, a post-it on the door, but to find, she said to call her at 10:30. When we arrived, we called... and didn't answer. The only apartment with a key under the door was filthy, with dirty sheets on the bed, and full of cobwebs - is that where we were supposed to stay? We called her nonstop for an hour, leaving messages, but she never called us back.

At 11:30 pm, in a city we had never been in, during tourist season with everything booked, we were stranded. If we hadn't rented a car, we would have slept on the street. Even on Saturday, she never called back to apologize.

In the end, we were extremely fortunate to get referred to a new bed and breakfast that was just starting out, and it was a fabulous experience. Don't bother with Trutch Manor.

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Canuck_in_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

If you've stayed here before, you will be disappointed. the house is the same beautiful place with great rooms and location, but...
the new owner has had it long enough that she should have the bugs worked out, but she hasn't. we arrived to check in at 4:50pm and had to phone to get the host. she was shopping, so we had to wait about 15 min. for her to let us in, not so bad, but still, she was expecting us. for some reason, she upgraded us to a very nice suite, which is great, but it wasn't ready. we sat and chatted while she made the bed and cleaned up the kitchen. ok, i can deal with that, stuff happens. but the room has not had a proper cleaning for months, i have never seen so much dust, the couch was covered with crumbs, someones opened water bottle in the fridge, no tp. it doesn't seem to be getting the same attention that Les and Marilyn paid it. the new owner has let out the basement unit where L&M lived and served breakfast. the new owner lives across the street and intends to serve breakfast in her Parlour Room. that seems a bit lame to me. i don't necessarily want to get dressed before breakfast let alone put on coat and shoes just to have breaky. (you'll notice i haven't referred to her by name. that's because she never introduced herself, so i don't know it) so after cleaning up the rooms she asked if we would want breakfast. well Duh!!! B&B!!! we new she was a new owner and we had high expectations after Marilyn's great feast, so we were very disappointed. "do you want bacon and eggs or fruit and cereal?"
we asked for bacon and eggs. then she left. since she hasn't got her parlour set up yet, she would bring our breakfast over in the morning. it was bacon and scrambled eggs with toast and OJ. garnished with a slice of orange and avacado. she did not ask if we wanted coffee or tea, (she did "remember" to ask us as she served the foil covered plates if we wanted coffee or tea, but who wants to wait for her to run across the street and make it, while our warm breakfast got cooler) white or brown toast, how we wanted our eggs, or even a choice of juice. very disappointing, we will not be going back. it's still a lovely building in a great area, but there are many, many, many other choices in victoria where you will receive the level service B&Bers expect for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank wildernessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Trutch Manor has been sold. Les and Marilyn are no longer involved in any way. We've stayed there several times a summer for eight years. We will miss Les and Marilyn as our inn keepers, and we wish them well. The new owners have a very tough act to follow. It will be difficult for them to keep the standards so high, the breakfasts so good and the rates so low... but I sincerely hope they can.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

What an incredible place to bookend my 8 day motorcycle adventure from Seattle across the heart of British Columbia and down Vancouver Island. Les and Marilyn were incredible, gracious hosts. Les made this middle aged biker and his iron horse feel right at home, and Les' dry sense of humor was a real treat. His recommendation for dinner at the Beagle was just what I needed after a long day in the saddle.

Marilyn's breakfast was out of this world and she made me feel a part of the family. Together they are quite the pair.

The room was quiet and cozy, and just right. I slept like a rock and hope to visit again soon. Perhaps on the next motorcycle adventure. :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenSnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Within walking distance to down town, but on a quiet street. We had never stayed at a B&B, but this sounded too good to pass up. Les was very helpful with site seeing routes and dinner ideas. Marilyn's breakfasts were gourmet quality and beautifully arranged. Other house guests were return guests, so we got a lot of helpful information about Victoria.
The house was beautifully restored, quaint, with plenty of room for a few days stay. We spent two nights, and would have loved to stay longer, but needed to move on. We were on our way to Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I find it puzzling that so many people give this B & B 5 stars. Yes there are a lot of good things going for it (it is very clean and comfortable for a start), but like a few of the previous reviewers I found that Les's attitude left a lot to be desired. We arrived late (about 8 pm) after a long and tiring journey on Greyhound Bus from Port Hardy and 1 of the first things he wanted was for us to pay the balance for our stay (we had already paid over £250 many months previously for our 5 night stay.) We were also told the 3 'Rules' of the house which I don't believe is necessary; but the weidest of all was that there is a sign in the kitchen asking us to use the toilet paper twice! (no spare roll in the bathroom either!)
One of the main advantages of Trutch Manor is that you have an 'apartment' which means that we had an extremely well-equipped kitchen with dining table. However, there was no tea or coffee - the only place out of 11 that we stayed in during our holiday not to provide this.
We had booked The Den, which is the cheapest of their rooms, and our bathroom was more like a large cupboard and the basin was actually a small kitchen sink unit; it was just adequate.
Marilyn is lovely, and as everyone else has said, the breakfasts are wonderful - infact I had to ask for smaller portions. Being a fairly large B & B it was great chatting to such a wide variety of guests over the time we were there.
Another plus is that it is situated in a lovely quiet neighbourhood - about a 1/2 hour walk to the harbour - but there is a small suburb about 5 mins walk away with restaurants and cafes.
If you can ignore the 'quirks' (and there were more that I haven't mentioned) then this is a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We just returned from a week's stay at Trutch Manor in Victoria, it was great! Trutch Manor is a beautiful Victorian mansion located about 5 blocks from downtown, within walking distance of local shops, restaurants, Beacon Hill Park, Government House and the ocean - no need to rent a car here. Les and Marilyn Tipton are terrific hosts, making us feel right at home with a five star breakfast each morning, and arranging for any excursions, sightseeing tours and restaurant reservations. Trutch Manor is immaculate, warm and friendly. We would highly recommend it to any couple wishing a quiet getaway, but close enough within walking to many of Victoria's sights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
456 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 91 in Victoria
503 reviews
The Postern Gate Inn
#7 of 18 in Victoria
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prior Castle Inn
#22 of 91 in Victoria
26 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trutch Manor Tourist Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trutch Manor Tourist Suites

Address: 621 Trutch St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 4C3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $134 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trutch Manor Tourist Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Trutch Manor Tourist Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing