We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arbutus Inn
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$235
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$281
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$195
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$265
$217
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$404
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
89
69
50
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
69
50
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational car rentalroom was cleannight on the townclose to downtownno elevatorrooms are smallstay there againshort staythe staff was friendly and helpfula great place to stayeasy accessenjoyed our stayconvenient locationlobbylinensdustfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 234 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The outside could use sprucing up but the room was clean and quiet. There is a restaurant and a coffee shop on the corner. It's more convenient for people arriving by car than by boat or plane. It's not in the center of town, but that's why it was also less expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the labor day weekend..The staff was great...They helped us find some tourist attractions...We did a little bit of shopping for the kids to go back to school..The rooms were great..The beds were very comfortable..The hotel is so close to the Inner Harbour...We would stay here again..The general manager was very pleasent....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatiana602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We choose this on the TA ratings but ..... the room was small, hot and cold water in shower was backward, mold on the shower wall, TV was in a cabinet that was too low, walls were marked up in the room and elsewhere. The building and the room look uncared for. A bit of maintenance and care could make this a good hotel but not in it's current state. The location is in a bit of a seedy part of town. Final note is that the wi-fi is painfully slow if you need to do any work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you Newman52 for your review on Tripadvior and for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am sorry to read that your room was not up to par and I have already spoken with our housekeeping and maintenance department on the issues you bring forth.
We took over this hotel in March of 2011 and made some great changes inside the hotel.
We changed over all the beds to new “Sleep Perect” Serta mattresses, installed 32” flat screens, new linens, painted every room, replaced the carpets through out the hotel and each room and did some upgrades in the bathrooms with new mirrors, shower heads and added hair dryers. Now our task is to start work on the outside of the hotel.
We have just recently doubled our WiFi speed in the hotel as we to found it lagging a bit. Since we have done this upgrade it is working very well.
Once again thank you for your feedback and review on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August for our honeymoon. We received great service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was bright, very clean and we enjoyed our stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and hope to stay there again next summer on our trip to Victoria!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knuts0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights in mid-August. The Inn - is not exactly an Inn - but more like a motel. It is dingy on the outside and a bit better on the inside.

Driving up to this place shocked me. I was put off by the outside - wondering if it looked like this outside, how must the inside look?

Met by a desk clerk who was short on kindness, I was immediately told that I had to have a couple of hundred dollars placed on hold - above the cost of the room - as insurance. This amount would be released once the cleaning people told them the room was in good shape after we left. Really??? I have never had this happen to me anywhere.

The room was adequate - clean. That's about it.

The location is about two miles from the city center - not walkable. There is a bus that we took about two blocks away to ride into town.

The picture of the room is correct - the best part is the bed - and that's where the positive ends.
I wouldn't stay here again - and if we had stayed longer than two nights, I would have changed hotels. It was a stopover from Seattle to Vancouver.

Victoria is beautiful - but this hotel is not. Not even close.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very surprised to read that your welcome to the hotel was not great. The staff here at the hotel is always so very friendly so I am shocked to read this from your review. Please accept our apologies. Yes you are correct we do ask for a deposit at check in which is released when you check out, but we do not ask for a couple of hundred dollars as you mention in the review. A lot of hotels take a pre-authorization at check in and then release it when you leave.

We are not located in the inner harbor but a lot of guests actually do walk to Chinatown first which is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and then make their way from there to the inner harbor looking at all the sites, shopping and getting to know the city. You mention that you walked two blocks to catch the bus to downtown. I’m not sure if you knew that there is a bus stop right out front of the hotel, possibly you did not see it.

I am glad to read that you found the room to be adequate and clean. Since we took over the hotel in March of 2011 we have made a lot of new positive changes and renovations in the hotel inside, but we have not had the chance to update the outside yet. We have replaced all the carpets in the hotel and hotel rooms. Painted every room, replaced every bed and linens doing triple sheeting. We have installed 32inch flat screens, new shower fixtures and hair dryers in every room. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. The hotel lobby has also been renovated with new floor tiles, furniture and paint.

It was nice to see you though that Victoria is a beautiful city and again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews