We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor too high”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We choose this on the TA ratings but ..... the room was small, hot and cold water in shower was backward, mold on the shower wall, TV was in a cabinet that was too low, walls were marked up in the room and elsewhere. The building and the room look uncared for. A bit of maintenance and care could make this a good hotel but not in it's current state. The location is in a bit of a seedy part of town. Final note is that the wi-fi is painfully slow if you need to do any work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you Newman52 for your review on Tripadvior and for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am sorry to read that your room was not up to par and I have already spoken with our housekeeping and maintenance department on the issues you bring forth.
We took over this hotel in March of 2011 and made some great changes inside the hotel.
We changed over all the beds to new “Sleep Perect” Serta mattresses, installed 32” flat screens, new linens, painted every room, replaced the carpets through out the hotel and each room and did some upgrades in the bathrooms with new mirrors, shower heads and added hair dryers. Now our task is to start work on the outside of the hotel.
We have just recently doubled our WiFi speed in the hotel as we to found it lagging a bit. Since we have done this upgrade it is working very well.
Once again thank you for your feedback and review on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August for our honeymoon. We received great service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was bright, very clean and we enjoyed our stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and hope to stay there again next summer on our trip to Victoria!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knuts0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights in mid-August. The Inn - is not exactly an Inn - but more like a motel. It is dingy on the outside and a bit better on the inside.

Driving up to this place shocked me. I was put off by the outside - wondering if it looked like this outside, how must the inside look?

Met by a desk clerk who was short on kindness, I was immediately told that I had to have a couple of hundred dollars placed on hold - above the cost of the room - as insurance. This amount would be released once the cleaning people told them the room was in good shape after we left. Really??? I have never had this happen to me anywhere.

The room was adequate - clean. That's about it.

The location is about two miles from the city center - not walkable. There is a bus that we took about two blocks away to ride into town.

The picture of the room is correct - the best part is the bed - and that's where the positive ends.
I wouldn't stay here again - and if we had stayed longer than two nights, I would have changed hotels. It was a stopover from Seattle to Vancouver.

Victoria is beautiful - but this hotel is not. Not even close.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very surprised to read that your welcome to the hotel was not great. The staff here at the hotel is always so very friendly so I am shocked to read this from your review. Please accept our apologies. Yes you are correct we do ask for a deposit at check in which is released when you check out, but we do not ask for a couple of hundred dollars as you mention in the review. A lot of hotels take a pre-authorization at check in and then release it when you leave.

We are not located in the inner harbor but a lot of guests actually do walk to Chinatown first which is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and then make their way from there to the inner harbor looking at all the sites, shopping and getting to know the city. You mention that you walked two blocks to catch the bus to downtown. I’m not sure if you knew that there is a bus stop right out front of the hotel, possibly you did not see it.

I am glad to read that you found the room to be adequate and clean. Since we took over the hotel in March of 2011 we have made a lot of new positive changes and renovations in the hotel inside, but we have not had the chance to update the outside yet. We have replaced all the carpets in the hotel and hotel rooms. Painted every room, replaced every bed and linens doing triple sheeting. We have installed 32inch flat screens, new shower fixtures and hair dryers in every room. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. The hotel lobby has also been renovated with new floor tiles, furniture and paint.

It was nice to see you though that Victoria is a beautiful city and again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I will echo other reviews here: rooms are comfy and tidy and modern, bed was comfortable and clean and prices reasonable.

The standout event was the fact that we were able to check in early - the front desk took the extra step to find out if our room was ready and we were able to place our belongings in the room and didn't have the hassle of leaving them in our vehicle.

Will recommend this Inn to others!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kylekayaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we drove up to the dated motel, we wondered if we had made a mistake, but once inside the room we realized we had not. The building is old, but the rooms have been updated inside. They are small, but have very nice decor, very comfortable beds, a refrigerator and microwave, and most everything you need. The staff were very helpful, which was necessary in our case. Victoria was experiencing a heat wave, and our AC unit kept overloading the circuit and turning itself off. The manager used an extension cord to plug it into another outlet and then it stayed on. It would have helped if they had cooled the room before we arrived so there wasn't so much stress on the AC. The windows opened so once the sun set it was easy to cool the room with outside air.

The motel is a short drive from downtown, but not within walking distance. There are a couple family restaurants right across the street. The ice machine is outside the lobby, a bit strange. There is no elevator for the three story building, but the parking lot is never more than one floor from your room, so it's not a big deal unless you have a lot of luggage or have problems with stairs, If you do, avoid the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is very well maintained and the updates to the hotel were done nicely. The staff is very friendly (the gentelman who works the evening shift took the time to help me plan my stay in Victoria, everything he suggested was perfect!) The location is about a 15 min walk to downtown which I found to be very convenient. There are tons of restaurants around the hotel as well as Beer/Liqour store close by. The price of this hotel was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area I looked at. My stay here was all in all Perfect! I will definetly be back.
Thanks staff at the Arbutus Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you had a nice stay in the hotel and Victoria, yes...you are right, the young man who works the evening shift is very nice and enjoys helping our guest out with things to do in Victoria. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Location is good. You can't walk to downtown, but it is really close. We stayed the night before we took the ferry to Port Angeles. Check in was glacially slow, but the girl was very pleasant. It is hard to find the hotel, as the sign for National Car Rental is much bigger than the hotel sign. If you are coming in from the north, it is right after the ABC restaurant, or just north of the Sandman Hotel.
Beds are great, shower is the absolute best ever. Rooms could be cleaner (hair in sink, shower, and behind our bathroom door). The hotel looks horrible from the outside, but the pictures of the rooms are about 80% accurate. There could have been a bit more done to update the rooms, but over all are good. If you are looking for a lower cost, comfortable place to stay that is close to downtown with free parking this will work. Not a destination hotel by any means.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frzntundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and the tip for getting into our parking lot off Douglas St. The hotel even though we are on Douglas Street is also away from the street noise so guests can have a nice quite night while sleeping.
We have made a lot of upgrades in the hotel and still continue to do more. We have replaced all the beds with new linens and triple sheeting. Added flat screen tvs, new higher end shower nozzles. We have repainted every room and replaced the carpets through the entire hotel and hotel room. Now that most of the changes inside have been made we can work on the outside of the building. Thank you again and hope you will return in the future to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
816 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
970 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $57 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing