We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August for our honeymoon. We received great service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was bright, very clean and we enjoyed our stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and hope to stay there again next summer on our trip to Victoria!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knuts0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    45
    16
    7
See reviews for
59
64
30
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights in mid-August. The Inn - is not exactly an Inn - but more like a motel. It is dingy on the outside and a bit better on the inside.

Driving up to this place shocked me. I was put off by the outside - wondering if it looked like this outside, how must the inside look?

Met by a desk clerk who was short on kindness, I was immediately told that I had to have a couple of hundred dollars placed on hold - above the cost of the room - as insurance. This amount would be released once the cleaning people told them the room was in good shape after we left. Really??? I have never had this happen to me anywhere.

The room was adequate - clean. That's about it.

The location is about two miles from the city center - not walkable. There is a bus that we took about two blocks away to ride into town.

The picture of the room is correct - the best part is the bed - and that's where the positive ends.
I wouldn't stay here again - and if we had stayed longer than two nights, I would have changed hotels. It was a stopover from Seattle to Vancouver.

Victoria is beautiful - but this hotel is not. Not even close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very surprised to read that your welcome to the hotel was not great. The staff here at the hotel is always so very friendly so I am shocked to read this from your review. Please accept our apologies. Yes you are correct we do ask for a deposit at check in which is released when you check out, but we do not ask for a couple of hundred dollars as you mention in the review. A lot of hotels take a pre-authorization at check in and then release it when you leave.

We are not located in the inner harbor but a lot of guests actually do walk to Chinatown first which is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and then make their way from there to the inner harbor looking at all the sites, shopping and getting to know the city. You mention that you walked two blocks to catch the bus to downtown. I’m not sure if you knew that there is a bus stop right out front of the hotel, possibly you did not see it.

I am glad to read that you found the room to be adequate and clean. Since we took over the hotel in March of 2011 we have made a lot of new positive changes and renovations in the hotel inside, but we have not had the chance to update the outside yet. We have replaced all the carpets in the hotel and hotel rooms. Painted every room, replaced every bed and linens doing triple sheeting. We have installed 32inch flat screens, new shower fixtures and hair dryers in every room. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. The hotel lobby has also been renovated with new floor tiles, furniture and paint.

It was nice to see you though that Victoria is a beautiful city and again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I will echo other reviews here: rooms are comfy and tidy and modern, bed was comfortable and clean and prices reasonable.

The standout event was the fact that we were able to check in early - the front desk took the extra step to find out if our room was ready and we were able to place our belongings in the room and didn't have the hassle of leaving them in our vehicle.

Will recommend this Inn to others!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kylekayaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we drove up to the dated motel, we wondered if we had made a mistake, but once inside the room we realized we had not. The building is old, but the rooms have been updated inside. They are small, but have very nice decor, very comfortable beds, a refrigerator and microwave, and most everything you need. The staff were very helpful, which was necessary in our case. Victoria was experiencing a heat wave, and our AC unit kept overloading the circuit and turning itself off. The manager used an extension cord to plug it into another outlet and then it stayed on. It would have helped if they had cooled the room before we arrived so there wasn't so much stress on the AC. The windows opened so once the sun set it was easy to cool the room with outside air.

The motel is a short drive from downtown, but not within walking distance. There are a couple family restaurants right across the street. The ice machine is outside the lobby, a bit strange. There is no elevator for the three story building, but the parking lot is never more than one floor from your room, so it's not a big deal unless you have a lot of luggage or have problems with stairs, If you do, avoid the top floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is very well maintained and the updates to the hotel were done nicely. The staff is very friendly (the gentelman who works the evening shift took the time to help me plan my stay in Victoria, everything he suggested was perfect!) The location is about a 15 min walk to downtown which I found to be very convenient. There are tons of restaurants around the hotel as well as Beer/Liqour store close by. The price of this hotel was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area I looked at. My stay here was all in all Perfect! I will definetly be back.
Thanks staff at the Arbutus Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you had a nice stay in the hotel and Victoria, yes...you are right, the young man who works the evening shift is very nice and enjoys helping our guest out with things to do in Victoria. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Location is good. You can't walk to downtown, but it is really close. We stayed the night before we took the ferry to Port Angeles. Check in was glacially slow, but the girl was very pleasant. It is hard to find the hotel, as the sign for National Car Rental is much bigger than the hotel sign. If you are coming in from the north, it is right after the ABC restaurant, or just north of the Sandman Hotel.
Beds are great, shower is the absolute best ever. Rooms could be cleaner (hair in sink, shower, and behind our bathroom door). The hotel looks horrible from the outside, but the pictures of the rooms are about 80% accurate. There could have been a bit more done to update the rooms, but over all are good. If you are looking for a lower cost, comfortable place to stay that is close to downtown with free parking this will work. Not a destination hotel by any means.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frzntundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and the tip for getting into our parking lot off Douglas St. The hotel even though we are on Douglas Street is also away from the street noise so guests can have a nice quite night while sleeping.
We have made a lot of upgrades in the hotel and still continue to do more. We have replaced all the beds with new linens and triple sheeting. Added flat screen tvs, new higher end shower nozzles. We have repainted every room and replaced the carpets through the entire hotel and hotel room. Now that most of the changes inside have been made we can work on the outside of the building. Thank you again and hope you will return in the future to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Don't let the exterior fool you, inside the rooms are comfy and tidy and modern. The bed was comfortable and clean. Lots of water pressure for my morning shower! I found the staff charming and helpful. It was a pleasant and interesting walk to downtown. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this hotel to my friends for any Victoria visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 49 in Victoria
884 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Property: Arbutus Inn
Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing