We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Traveller's Inn - On Gorge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveller's Inn - On Gorge
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
surrey
1 review
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

There are a ton of them in victoria, the one we stayed at was on Gorge Road, the floor had hardwood floors, and you could see the dust bunnies in the corners. The bathtub had hairs around the edges from the previous guest(s), the bathroom floor also needed to be mopped - looked quite dirty. It was a very hot day, the room had air conditioning, but it did not work and the air conditioner was very dusty/dirty. At night, it was extremely hot in the room. We only stayed one night. The room was only $90 a night and was rated 3 stars, for that price, I expected a room to be clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SurreyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

The hotel has obviously had some cosmetic upgrades, as the previous management response states. Our room appeared to be freshly painted, with some attempts to make the room interesting ("crown molding" type touches). Also, the bathroom was newly tiled and painted, with new fixtures.

Even with these changes, the room was dark and dreary. The floor was a dark hardwood and the furniture was also very dark wood. The bedspead was muted in color. The lamp shades were extremely dusty, but other than that the room was clean. All the attempts at "Old World Charm" were somewhat hampered by the 1970's-type hotel print hanging over the bed!

Speaking of the bed, it was terrible! It was a King, which was nice, but the mattress actually visibly sagged right where your low back would be when laying down. It appeared someone or something very heavy had broken the mattress or springs. The other issue in the room was the floor length drapes...that covered the air conditioning unit! After much rolling and balancing of the shades on the windowsill, we rigged up a way to have the curtains closed, but still have the AC blow air into the room and not just behind the curtains.

The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Harbour area. It is an easy drive.

We booked this hotel through Priceline, so we did not actually choose it, it chose us. At $65 per night, plus taxes and fees, I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Liked — Low price
  • Disliked — The bed!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreytRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

I stayed only for 1 night in this inn and my experince was very bad.
The room was in worse condition than the picture. Bathroom has cracks on the wall and mold. Although the room is non smoking but it smells like smoking room. Manager of the hotel was very rude. Overall experience was very bad. Will not come back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2005

Let me start by saying that the main reason (outside of cost) we stayed here was because they offered FREE shuttle service to and from the downtown area. This is a big plus, due to the hotel being so far off the "beaten path." The shuttle was nice, but we had numerous problems with it (waiting for 2 hours after they said they would be there at a certain time, etc.).
The room.....well, I expect things to look a tad better in the photos, but this was way off. This was supposed to be a 3 Star hotel, I would call it a 1 Star. The room was small and cramped, the bathroom even more so. The furniture was falling apart as well as the door to the bathroom. The staff was very stingy with their towels, wash clothes, and shampoo. We stayed for 3 days. As a family of 4, I expect more than 2 towels, and two, one time use shampoo packets. We had to continuously ask for things that should have been there to begin with.
Amenities.... the king-sized beds WERE comfy. The pool was nice, and the sauna, great. There was a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker in the room. It would have been nice to have a hair dryer though.
In the end, I would definitely NOT stay here again, given the choice. It just wasn't 3 Star quality.

Helpful?
8 Thank 4cookiesrwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2004

We stayed at this hotel in May. It was very comfortable, clean and quiet. We were very surprised and pleased at the china and cutlery provided. The manager was extremely helpful in booking further accommodation.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Inn - On Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Inn - On Gorge

Property: Traveller's Inn - On Gorge
Address: 120 Gorge Road East, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traveller's Inn - On Gorge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Hotel Value by Victoria News � 6 years running! Awarded 3-Stars by Tourism BC's Canada Select Program. This Downtown Victoria Location features 69 Rooms. 9 Free Satellite Movie Channels, in room coffee/tea, Free Parking, Free Shuttle Service from Inner Harbour Ferries, outdoor Pool and Sauna. Deluxe King beds in most rooms, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, working desks and voicemail, wheelchair accessible room. Collect valuable StayMiles.com reward Points with every stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Traveller's Inn - On Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel On Gorge
Travellers Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing