We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brekkie”
Review of Shine Cafe

Shine Cafe
Ranked #80 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Shine Cafe has been serving delicious home made breakfast and lunch since 2004. We are a family owned and operated business that is proud to call Victoria home. Visit us to experience Shine's excellent food and friendly service that has stood the test of time.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brekkie”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Again on the recommendation of online reviewers (and a local or 2), we tried the Shine Cafe for brunch. Delicious food, funky, quirky decor, and very friendly but not intrusive service. Huge protions, too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drtheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic eggs benny!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good classic eggs benedict! A little bit thinner and darker hollandaise than I have often seen but with very good flavour! Fun decor - great service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycinaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic find for breakfast”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Found this cafe on our first morning in Victoria. Place was very busy when we got there and a queue formed not long after. The choice of breakfast was excellent and there were numerous gluten free options. The quality was amazing being well cooked and very tasty. Thoroughly recommend finding this cafe if you are in Victoria.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevandSops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This cafe was recommended by another local cafe owner. He was having equipment problems and kindly steered us in this direction and aren't we glad. The cafe was trendy and had two seating areas. The staff seated us immediately and offered us beverages. Standard fare and was hot and filling. Good value for the price. Will definitely be back on our next visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank easytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They batted a thousand!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went to Shine on Father's Day, and as might have been expected, it was busy. They told us we had a 40 minute wait, but since anywhere else would be the same, we decided to wait. Then we discovered the sign that said, Need caffeine? Help yourself and we will add it to your bill later. A cup of coffee makes a line up much easier!

The breakfasts were delicious, big portions and nicely presented. The most impressive thing was that every person working was genuine, happy and stayed calm through what was surely a stressful morning! I spoke to the owner, Barry and told him he must be doing something right to have such good people, and he said he simply wanted to create a place where people liked coming to work. That's all it takes.

It is a funky little place in downtown Victoria, don't pass it up.,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baloovancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shine Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Shine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing