We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bennys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shine Cafe

Shine Cafe
Ranked #87 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manitoba
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Bennys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

While in Victoria last weekend, went for brunch at Shine. Arrived at 11 on a Sat, had a 20 min wait, Good complimentary coffee but no place to stand and wait. Very loud in the first room. After being seated my friends and I each ordered a different Benny. Traditional, Tuscany and Canadian. All excellent. Service and prices were good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I went for something to eat here and was it great! I had the Big Breakfast and my wife had the Metropolitan Omelet. The food was fantastic. We got there about 2 pm and there was lots of room. The portions are big, the service was great. You have to try the Blood Pudding. Sounds terrible but is wonderful, very lite but tasty.

Cant wait to go back you have to have the Scones unbelievably tasty. I can see why it gets packed spoke with Stephanie the young lady cook she sure knows her job, very nice girl. Great little place you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryOilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant is always a favorite for us.This time we ate breakfast three days in a row.Every day it was fantastic for myself and my husband and we had something different every morning.The staff are so pleasant and portions are large.all of the bennies are fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwoodMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint, small, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went there to try breakfast based upon other reviews, and was not disappointed, the food was yummy I,had the heuveos and were very good and filling. The restaurant is small but worth the short wait I had, coffee hot, food brought out promptly. Poured me a coffee while wiinpp

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome breakfast! Custom made omelettes and the Brie Benny was to write home about. Being a Sunday morning it was super busy but the service was fast. Best coffee ever! Can hardly wait to go back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shine Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Shine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing