We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 21, 2014

It was nice walking into a good ambience and to have a smooth check in by a wonderful front desk girl. The suite was nice, well laid out and well appointed. The overall amenities were great with a well equipped kitchenette and two LCD TVs. the bed was just perfect and I slept soundly.
However, the lack of air conditioning was a huge disappointment though the front desk got a fan delivered on my complaint and it helped. My other disappointments were a lack of good TV channels, poor cable picture quality, no HD channels, spotty internet and only one mirror in the suite over the bathroom sink. I'm sure this must feel like a very high end hotel except in summer season.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room facing the Blanshard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank psahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the positive feedback regarding your check in experience and the quality or your suite. We are sorry to hear that you were upset about the lack of air conditioning. We strive to be a green hotel and take environmentally friendly precautions to cool down the hotel. We also thank you for your feedback on the hotel’s TV and internet connection – we will pass this on to management and look into this matter further. We hope we do get the chance to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,520 - 1,526 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

I think a full service restaurant and room service would make our stay easier for seniors. Being close to everything and within walking distance made our stay very enjoyable. Being upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite was wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great location for visiting downtown Victoria. Walking distance to the harbour and restaurants. The front desk staff were lovely and helpful. The accommodations were great for an extended family. Small balcony available and the ability to open windows was appreciated but a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpdyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The street noise was impossible to overlook...at 2 am the earplugs left on the bedside table didn't seem so hilarious any more. At 5 am the alarm went off (left on by previous occupant, not checked by housekeeping). We had a devil of a time finding a spot in the garage to park. I could go on... It's a pretty facility but the front desk staff were cold and aloof...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our central, convenient location does result in some street noise, and we are sorry to hear you found this disturbing. We do provide ear plugs as an amenity for light sleepers, as you mentioned in your post. Thank you for the information about the alarm clock. Rest assured this is not the normal standard at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, and we will use this information as a coaching tool for our Housekeeping staff. We are sorry to hear you had difficulties finding a parking spot. Even though the hotel has been very busy this summer, we normally have ample parking for guests, and are glad to hear you were able to locate a spot. Thank you for your feedback on our Guest Service Team. We pride ourselves on our friendly, helpful employees and are shocked to hear about your experience with Guest Services. We will look into this matter further. Once again thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Don't know what the other hotels in the area are like but this is a good hotel and close to lots of amenities in the city. Only complaint was the shower head in the room. Not enough pressure or water.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice but having construction done on the out side and being told only light work being done lol it was a jack hammer going not the best way to wake up .the breakfast very very basic no real selection of food or fruit not worth paying for I would wait to go down into town

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the hotel. We are sorry you found the construction work disruptive to your stay. We do notify all guests via an in room letter, as well as posting information on our website. Unfortunately, we do not get notified on the days where it may be louder construction than other days, and again we apologize if the noise upset you . We do thank you for your comments about the breakfast and are sorry to hear you felt our selection was basic, we will pass on your comments to our Banquets team. If you have any further concerns or feedback regarding your stay we encourage you to reach out to our Guest Services Manager. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel never disappoints and exceeds expectations....lovely bedding, spotless rooms, great ambiance an beautiful environment. I enjoyed having the windows open and the fresh breeze...had a great night sleep!!!. I love the fact that there is a kitchen which allows you to entertain or have a meal . Always a pleasure to come to the Parkside and know it will always be consistent.. Can't wait to return.
**Tried the coffee shop adjacent to the lobby for the first time and was very impressed with their coffee and goodies!! All excellent!!!

Room Tip: I loved the corner suite in the B tower...commanding view of the mountains!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ikc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your great review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled you found the hotel to be spotless, have great ambience and that overall it exceeded your expectations. We thank you for acknowledging our environmentally friendly practices and the fact that the hotel does its best to keep the rooms cool throughout the day. We are so happy to hear that you continuously enjoy your stays with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 47 in Victoria
1,936 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $117 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing